Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Acer Aspire 5515

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    13,687
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: Acer Aspire 5515

    There are always exceptions but they are few. Please go experiment with 14.* and post your findings.
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Beans
    34

    Re: Acer Aspire 5515

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgs View Post
    There are always exceptions but they are few. Please go experiment with 14.* and post your findings.
    I'll be sure to do that

    Thanks everyone for the input!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Beans
    34

    Re: Acer Aspire 5515

    Unfortunately the USB did not work. I installed Xubuntu 14.04 on it. In the BIOS, I have the boot order as:

    USB CD/DVD ROM
    IDE0: WDC WD1600BEVT ( it goes longer, but I don't think the rest of the numbers mean anything to you guys)
    IDE1: TSSTcorp CDDVDW (Etc)
    Network Boot: Realtek boot agent
    USB FDD:
    USB HDD:
    USB KEY

    I also tried setting USB HDD and USB KEY first, just to try. They didn't work either.

    I'm lost as to what I did wrong. The iso appeared to install smoothly onto the USB.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    13,687
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: Acer Aspire 5515

    IDE0 is the hard disk and IDE1 is the DVD drive. You need to move IDE0 and Network to the bottom, IDE1 to the top.
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Beans
    34

    Re: Acer Aspire 5515

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgs View Post
    IDE0 is the hard disk and IDE1 is the DVD drive. You need to move IDE0 and Network to the bottom, IDE1 to the top.

    Wow, I feel so stupid...*facepalm*

    Works like a pro now! Obviously I have a long way to go before becoming a Linux guru.

    Thanks so much for your help! This is one of the most responsive forums I've ever visited, I really appreciate you and the others who help people like me out.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    13,687
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: Acer Aspire 5515

    Welcome to the free world.
    Please mark the thread 'solved'.
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •