Thread: Any dangers in apt-get clean, autoclean, autoremove?

Beans
    Hidden!

Any dangers in apt-get clean, autoclean, autoremove?

I just started learning Linux and I am compiling a list of commands and its functions that optimize the system. I came across commands such as clean, autoclean, and autoremove. I have read that some of these commands may cause unintended consequences. From what I've read, however, I don't see how these commands are not safe in the sense that I can run them any time and expect them to optimize the system.

apt-get clean flushes the cache of packages that are to be installed, right? So isn't the worst scenario that can happen is that I have to download the package again?
    apt-get autoclean does the same thing as apt-get clean except it does not remove the cache of the latest version, so it's even "safer" than the worst case scenario of apt-get clean, right?

As for apt-get autoremove, it "removes orphaned packages that were installed as dependencies, but are no longer."​ They may not be dependencies for the orphaned package, but what if they are dependencies for a package that I am using--will it delete it? If not, How could this command be "dangerous" or produce unintended consequences?

Thanks.

P.S. What other safe commands that optimize Linux should I be aware of? Anything from updating drivers to clearing cache of certain programs. I am not afraid to get dirty as long as there are clear instructions and I understand what I'm doing and the risks.

Beans

Re: Any dangers in apt-get clean, autoclean, autoremove?

I suppose it depends upon what you mean by 'optimize'. Packages on the system that you don't use don't get loaded or use RAM or CPU time. They use no resources at all except a bit of disk space.

Your understanding of clean and autoclean and autoremove is close enough. They are generally safe to use. There are always corner cases and exceptions.

Beans
    Hidden!