Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Migrating Anti Virus Software

Beans

Migrating Anti Virus Software

Dear all,
    first of all. i would like to apologize if this is not the right place to ask.

i'm new to Info Security.
    I would like to ask an opinion on migrating anti virus software for an Enterprise (1000 users).
    Let say, i currently used AV from company A, and want to migrate the antivirus software to AV from company B. I have made a study on how we would like to deploy it. We plan to use Microsoft SCCM to uninstall current AV and install the new AV. My concern is on the virus spread if the installation of new AV if unsuccessful. Is there any best practice on changing AV software. What other things that need to put in consideration?

Anyone to share their experience.
    Thanks in advance.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Migrating Anti Virus Software

Try a MS support channel. We only support Ubuntu and derivatives here.

...never mind, we support everything here!
    Last edited by mikewhatever; August 27th, 2014 at 12:09 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Although a Microsoft forum might be best, users are quite welcome to post in Other Operating Systems and Projects.

There are those who use Linux who are also proficient in Windows.
    My Blog
    Ubuntu Help Pages I'm constructing: AMDGPU and AMDGPU-PRO
    Don't let the truth get in the way of a good story!
    This universe is crazy. I'm going back to my own.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Do you have a single AV console to manage all the hosts in your environment? Or are you just installing AV independently on each endpoint?

I presume you have tested the new AV on some systems to ensure it's not going to do something stupid like quarantine Word throughout your enterprise .