Thread: Ubuntu Terminal Server

Beans

Ubuntu Terminal Server

Hello everyone,

I am very new to Ubuntu and have a project at work that I could use some help with. I have a server with Ubuntu Server 14.04 installed. I am wanting to set it up as a terminal server for users to log in (using RDP from their windows machines) to a desktop environment with a web browser (they need to have access to an oracle system from a different network). I have found some guides online, but nothing that is really clear enough for a newbie like me. Could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Ubuntu Terminal Server

In the Linux/UNIX world, "terminal server" means something completely different than you intend. A terminal server usually means a peice of hardware on the head of a rack row that provide remote consoles into the 20-100 servers on that rack - no GUI involved. At least that's what it means to old guys. It could also mean a server that accepts CLI requests (usually via telnet or ssh), but definitely without a GUI - sorta like a "terminal session."

What you really want is a remote desktop server - there are many ways to accomplish this with different protocols, but I don't have experience doing it the way you probably want (via RDP) - we need security and RDP just isn't sufficient to use over the internet.

So ... if your users will connect over the LAN, then just load a LAN-friendly desktop (NOT Unity!) and I suspect either xrdp or x11rdp is the server-side software you want. Don't know which, sorry. I've used FreeNX and x2go for the last 5 yrs which have great security - safe from anywhere in the world, if ssh-keys are used.

Being new to Ubuntu, probably means a guide could be used: http://ubuntuguide.org/
    Hope this sends you in the right direction.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by TheFu View Post