Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Choosing Hardware for a Web Server

Beans

Question Choosing Hardware for a Web Server

Hello,

I have a web server hosting 20 small sites. It is an old Dell XPS hardware running Ubuntu server 12.04 LTS.
    All my sites are made with Drupal (PHP) + Apache.
    As you can imagine, this setup becomes slow.
    I am planning to add 20 other sites and I would like to invest in a more robust solution.
    Unfortunatly, I am a complete noob in this matter.
    I have a budget from 2 000€ ($ 2 700) up to 5 000€ ($6.700).
    I would love a scalable solution where I can add (a card? a processor? ...) when needed... In this case, I would be happy to start around 2000€
    Hereafter my questions:
    -Tower or Rack? (could I start with a rack without the frame?)
    -Which vendor/product solution are the most Ubuntu compliant?
    =>I just read the Ubuntu Server certified hardware page, but I am lost, because if I look at the vendor sites, there is no mention of Ubuntu (or very few)
    =>I really don't want to spend too much time into compiling driver... I would like to be able to install Ubuntu nearly out of the box
    -Should I invest into memory or into the number of processors (or number of kernel)?
    -Should I go into SSD?
    -Is there anything else I should think about.

I am sorry by advance if my questions seems a little bit stupid; I assume I will fine tune my requests in the future.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Choosing Hardware for a Web Server

These are all very smart questions and you want the answers, but you've left off all the data anyone would need to know to begin making any recommendations. Things like:
    * transaction rates (web and DB)
    * transaction sizes (web and DB)
    * concurrent access
    * total data storage
    * total DB sizes
    * count of DBs
    * disaster recovery plan
    * backup plan
    * failover plan
    * load balancing plan
    * upgrade plan