Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 14.04 no sound Intel HDA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Putaruru, NZ
    Beans
    43

    14.04 no sound Intel HDA

    Ok I have spent the last 2 days reading every guide/post that i can find, and i don't seem to be getting any closer

    This was a fresh install, on hardware that had previously had 12.04 on it and yes sound had worked previously although apparently it was a mission to set up, and no i can't get hold of the person who set it up then

    What i have tried
    Uninstalling and reinstalling alsa/pulse audio and the reloading alsa (and rebooting)
    Result - Zero effect on sound with the benefit of partially borking the desktop (apparently not uncommon and easily fixed)

    Changing the probe option from 1 to 8
    Result - Zero effect on sound

    Experimented with setting model on alsa config thingie
    Result - Zero effect on sound, although as I was guessing it didn't help

    anyway below for your delictation are some of the outputs

    Computer is a P4 with a gigabyte motherboard

    lspci -vvnn

    Code:
    ****************8
    00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 82915G/P/GV/GL/PL/910GL Memory Controller Hub [8086:2580] (rev 0e)
    	Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd GA-8I915ME-G Mainboard [1458:2580]
    	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    	Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort+ >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    	Latency: 0
    	Capabilities: <access denied>
    	Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel
    ******************
    00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller [8086:2668] (rev 03)
    	Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd Device [1458:a102]
    	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    	Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 16
    	Region 0: Memory at f20c0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    	Capabilities: <access denied>
    lsmod | grep snd
    Code:
    snd_hda_intel          42730  0 
    snd_hda_codec         164067  1 snd_hda_intel
    snd_hwdep              13272  1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm                85501  2 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
    snd_page_alloc         14230  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
    snd_seq_midi           13132  0 
    snd_seq_midi_event     14475  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_rawmidi            25135  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq                55383  2 snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_device         14137  3 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_midi
    snd_timer              28584  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    snd                    60871  9 snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_device,snd_seq_midi
    soundcore              12600  1 snd
    s

    dmesg | grep hda
    Code:
    [   15.004898] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 40 for MSI/MSI-X
    [   15.015472] hda-intel 0000:00:1b.0: no codecs initialized
    [  125.907917] waiting module removal not supported: please upgrade<7>[  126.179265] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 40 for MSI/MSI-X
    [  126.183608] hda-intel 0000:00:1b.0: no codecs initialized
    And the Alsa script test thingie
    Code:
    upload=true&script=true&cardinfo=
    !!################################
    !!ALSA Information Script v 0.4.63
    !!################################
    
    !!Script ran on: Fri Jul  4 22:34:31 UTC 2014
    
    
    !!Linux Distribution
    !!------------------
    
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS \n \l DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 14.04 LTS" NAME="Ubuntu" ID=ubuntu ID_LIKE=debian PRETTY_NAME="Ubuntu 14.04 LTS" HOME_URL="http://www.ubuntu.com/" SUPPORT_URL="http://help.ubuntu.com/" BUG_REPORT_URL="http://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/"
    
    
    !!DMI Information
    !!---------------
    
    Manufacturer:       
    Product Name:       
    Product Version:    
    Firmware Version:  F6
    
    
    !!Kernel Information
    !!------------------
    
    Kernel release:    3.13.0-24-generic
    Operating System:  GNU/Linux
    Architecture:      i686
    Processor:         i686
    SMP Enabled:       Yes
    
    
    !!ALSA Version
    !!------------
    
    Driver version:     k3.13.0-24-generic
    Library version:    1.0.27.2
    Utilities version:  1.0.27.2
    
    
    !!Loaded ALSA modules
    !!-------------------
    
    
    
    !!Sound Servers on this system
    !!----------------------------
    
    Pulseaudio:
          Installed - Yes (/usr/bin/pulseaudio)
          Running - Yes
    
    
    !!Soundcards recognised by ALSA
    !!-----------------------------
    
    --- no soundcards ---
    
    
    !!PCI Soundcards installed in the system
    !!--------------------------------------
    
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)
    
    
    !!Advanced information - PCI Vendor/Device/Subsystem ID's
    !!-------------------------------------------------------
    
    00:1b.0 0403: 8086:2668 (rev 03)
    	Subsystem: 1458:a102
    
    
    !!Modprobe options (Sound related)
    !!--------------------------------
    
    snd_atiixp_modem: index=-2
    snd_intel8x0m: index=-2
    snd_via82xx_modem: index=-2
    snd_usb_audio: index=-2
    snd_usb_caiaq: index=-2
    snd_usb_ua101: index=-2
    snd_usb_us122l: index=-2
    snd_usb_usx2y: index=-2
    snd_cmipci: mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
    snd_pcsp: index=-2
    snd_usb_audio: index=-2
    snd_hda_intel: probe_mask=1
    snd_hda_intel: model=auto
    
    
    !!Loaded sound module options
    !!---------------------------
    
    
    !!ALSA Device nodes
    !!-----------------
    
    crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  1 Jul  5 10:06 /dev/snd/seq
    crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116, 33 Jul  5 10:06 /dev/snd/timer
    
    
    !!Aplay/Arecord output
    !!--------------------
    
    APLAY
    
    aplay: device_list:268: no soundcards found...
    
    ARECORD
    
    arecord: device_list:268: no soundcards found...
    
    !!Amixer output
    !!-------------
    
    
    !!Alsactl output
    !!--------------
    
    --startcollapse--
    --endcollapse--
    
    
    !!All Loaded Modules
    !!------------------
    
    Module
    snd_hda_intel
    snd_hda_codec
    snd_hwdep
    snd_pcm
    snd_page_alloc
    snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_rawmidi
    snd_seq
    snd_seq_device
    snd_timer
    snd
    soundcore
    rfcomm
    bnep
    bluetooth
    gpio_ich
    i915
    video
    drm_kms_helper
    serio_raw
    lpc_ich
    drm
    i2c_algo_bit
    parport_pc
    ppdev
    lp
    parport
    mac_hid
    hid_generic
    firewire_ohci
    usbhid
    r8169
    hid
    firewire_core
    crc_itu_t
    mii
    
    
    !!ALSA/HDA dmesg
    !!--------------
    
    [   15.004609] [drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20080730 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0
    [   15.004898] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 40 for MSI/MSI-X
    [   15.015472] hda-intel 0000:00:1b.0: no codecs initialized
    [   18.542342] EXT4-fs (sda1): re-mounted. Opts: errors=remount-ro
    --
    [  125.893300] waiting module removal not supported: please upgradewaiting module removal not supported: please upgrade
    [  125.907917] waiting module removal not supported: please upgrade<7>[  126.179265] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 40 for MSI/MSI-X
    [  126.183608] hda-intel 0000:00:1b.0: no codecs initialized
    [  357.625702] systemd-hostnamed[4280]: Warning: nss-myhostname is not installed. Changing the local hostname might make it unresolveable. Please install nss-myhostname!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Putaruru, NZ
    Beans
    43

    Re: 14.04 no sound Intel HDA

    well thats odd

    Looking physically at the motherboard it says
    GA-8I915G-MF (and it looks like the pic on the gigabyte site)

    However in the lspci -vvnn output

    it says
    GA-8I915ME-G Mainboard (which it doesnt look like)

    which uses a different audio codec,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    13

    Re: 14.04 no sound Intel HDA

    Hi Nigel,

    It looks like you do not have codec module inserted in your system (e.g I have idt codec in my laptop so I can see this output on doing lsmod | grep snd)
    snd_hda_codec_idt
    other than other modules you have listed.

    What is your audio codec in the system you have ..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Beans
    3

    Re: 14.04 no sound Intel HDA

    hey I have a similar problem I think, I am interested to know how this panned out. I am very much intrigued by that codec thing you mentioned.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    13

    Re: 14.04 no sound Intel HDA

    hda driver(sound controller) has the intelligence to determine and load the driver of the codec which is present in your system.
    Linux has a device table which mentions for which codec represented by (vendorid:deviceid) which module has to be loaded.

    If you see nigel is getting the error, which means controller driver(hda) is not able to determine the codec, hence not able to load the driver codec module.
    [ 15.015472] hda-intel 0000:00:1b.0: no codecs initialized
    [ 125.907917] waiting module removal not supported: please upgrade<7>[ 126.179265] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 40 for MSI/MSI-X
    [ 126.183608] hda-intel 0000:00:1b.0: no codecs initialized


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Putaruru, NZ
    Beans
    43

    Re: 14.04 no sound Intel HDA

    Ok According to the mobo page on gigabyte

    the correct codec should be

    Realtek ALC880 audio codec

    I am not quite sure how to figure out much further

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,421

    Re: 14.04 no sound Intel HDA

    Your specific model is already quirked in the driver (I'm not sure why it's labeled as a K8 board, but that's the PCI ID) https://github.com/torvalds/linux/bl...ealtek.c#L1471
    So, I would not play with model= string. In fact, you should remove the two lines you added to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

    What I would try:
    - Getting latest ALSA kernel module: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Audio/UpgradingAlsa/DKMS
    - Disabling the codec in the BIOS, and re-enabling it on next boot
    - Removing the model= and probe_mask options and trying to disable msi (options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=0)
    - If none of that works, remove all customizations from alsa-base.conf and file a bug (since you said probe mask 8 did not work)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Putaruru, NZ
    Beans
    43

    Re: 14.04 no sound Intel HDA

    I disabled the codec in the bios and removed the two lines in alsa-base.conf file.

    Rebooted and sound worked

    Thanks for that

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •