Thread: USB Booting SQUASHFS Error

Beans

Unhappy USB Booting SQUASHFS Error

Hello,

I know this has been answered extensively but I haven't been able to fix my problem, so I have decided to write a post about it. Yes, I'm a total newbie.

I'm trying to install Ubuntu 14.04 on my Toshiba Satellite nb10t-a-101 laptop. Currently there is no OS present, only the BIOS (UEFI).

I boot from the USB, I get on to the grub menu where I can Try, Install (etc). When I press on Try, I get the Ubuntu splash screen for a few seconds (with the little orange dots) then the screen goes black and starts showing lots of SQUASHFS Errors.

I have read other posts about it and I know it is supposed to be a HW error. I have tried the following:

I have redownloaded the .iso file and done a md5 checksum. Says no error.
    I have "burned" the .iso file into a usb using Universal USB Installer and also through Terminal on OS X.
    I bought a brand new USB today and tried it a few times. Still shows the same error. (There is no CD Reader on the laptop so I can't try with CDs
    Fearing the worst, I thought it may be bad memory modules. I used memtest86 and it showed no errors after several runs

I don't know what else to do and I can't get past this point.

I wanted to try the "Successful boot was achieved by adding "all_generic_ide" to the grub boot line for the live CD. " workaround but I really don't know how to do it. I press 'e' but I don't know how to correctly add the lines.

Ah, also secure boot and fast boot are disabled, I have checked all the UEFI settings available.

So there's not much more I can do.

Thank you! I really want to use Ubuntu!

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: USB Booting SQUASHFS Error

Hello:

I've an old laptop, a Toshiba Satellite A60. And I've been facing this problem with the installer for a long, long, long time :/ . I've tried everything:

* DVD.
    * USB booted with Plop Boot Manager.