Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: (initramfs) Unable to find a medium containing a live file system - old sony vaio

Beans

Unable to install Lubuntu via dvd or usb. Any other methods?

Hi guys, first post here.

I've an old p3 256mb sony vaio that I'd like to get linux on. This will be my first foray into linux and from what I've read the flavour should be lubuntu for such old hardware?

My problem is that I can't boot from usb nor from dvd since I don't have a CF dvd drive. Can anyone suggest a way I can get Lubuntu onto my laptop?

The only way I can think is if Lubuntu can be installed via a setup file from within winxp? And then delete the xp partition and installation later?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Unable to install Lubuntu via dvd or usb. Any other methods?

I would not describe what you want to do as "absolute beginners" stuff. I have never tried it.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/In...llFromInternet

This HOWTO describes one way to do a Netboot install of Ubuntu by booting from files on a hard disk.
    You need to have grub or grub2 already installed and bootable in order to use this method. It is therefore suitable for installing Ubuntu over an existing GNU/Linux installation.
    Download the appropriate initrd.gz and linux files for your architecture and distribution from

2.- Or from archive.ubuntu.com/ in case you're looking for the development version.
    Save them somewhere that grub can read from. Inside /boot is a fine place. (These files are quite small, under 10MB for either architecture.)
    2. Reboot your computer and press ESC if necessary to enter the grub menu (press Shift if you use grub2). Now we will get grub to boot from the files you just downloaded.
    Like I said, not absolute beginners stuff.

Regards.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.