Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Hard code system output volume value, possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Beans
    1

    Question Hard code system output volume value, possible?

    Hi,

    This might be an unusual request, but I'm running Ubuntu 12.04LTS and need a way to hard code the system volume output to a value that never changes, even upon reboot. It's a test machine where we never want the output volume changing.

    Is there a way to do this?

    Thanks,

    Michael

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,682

    Re: Hard code system output volume value, possible?

    You can always use 'amixer' or 'pacmd set-sink-volume' to control volume on startup. Don't ask me which one you should use because I don't run pulseaudio and find the overlapping volume controls between ALSA and pulse confusing...
    What would happen if your hard disk died right now?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    7,068

    Re: Hard code system output volume value, possible?

    I have used an 'alsactl restore' from within /etc/rc.local to set volume on boot - however I don't know how to lock it down once inside a user-session (possibly there's a polkit setting?)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    everywhere in space
    Beans
    15
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Hard code system output volume value, possible?

    Dear michael151

    HA! Problem NOT solved yet. The exact thing happens to my sound volume on 13.4. I don't know whether a CLI command would work. I read some other posts that this was a common problem. Still waiting for 14.whatever- non-beta, in hopes that this is addressed and fixed.

  5. #5
    ibjsb4 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    4,996

    Re: Hard code system output volume value, possible?


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    europe
    Beans
    155
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Hard code system output volume value, possible?

    I'd suggest to use aumix for that purpose.

    You can consider yourself even luckier, since I've just found my old script on a backup flash drive with my sample aumix line:
    Code:
    aumix -v95 -w93 -c84 -W95 -m66 -p30 -r70
    Last edited by syntaxerror74; May 17th, 2014 at 07:08 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •