Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu 14.04 Boot - plymouth-upstart-bridge Issue

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Question Ubuntu 14.04 Boot - plymouth-upstart-bridge Issue

Hey folks -

I'm somewhat new to the Ubuntu world, but no stranger to Linux (using it since '92). My newest install is the server version of 14.04, and upon booting, init spams this to the console:

Code:
    [    5.456439] init: plymouth-upstart-bridge main process (387) terminated with status 1
    [    5.457595] init: plymouth-upstart-bridge main process ended, respawning
    [    5.460514] init: plymouth-upstart-bridge main process (398) terminated with status 1
    [    5.461659] init: plymouth-upstart-bridge main process ended, respawning
    . (deleted for brevity)
    [    5.496967] init: plymouth-upstart-bridge respawning too fast, stopped
    The following step is the kernel loading its swap space. From there, it freezes.

My "sledgehammer" style fix for this was to remove /etc/init/plymouth-upstart-bridge.conf, which was likely the wrong thing to do. But, the machine boots reliably every time now, and everything appears to be fine. Prior to 14.04 server, I'd installed 13.10, and it booted reliably every time.

Any ideas or suggestions? Should I just leave it as is?

Thanks.

Beans

Re: Ubuntu 14.04 Boot - plymouth-upstart-bridge Issue

I get the same error on boot but mine boots just fine. The error does bug me though.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Quote Originally Posted by Professor Frink View Post
    I get the same error on boot but mine boots just fine. The error does bug me though.