Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 61

Thread: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    Quote Originally Posted by uzumakifahim View Post
    Almost same thing here. Copy is also working fine except the indicator with it's menu. As the menu is not showing, I'm unable to "pause syncing" option. I've tried with Dropbox and Skype, indicator of these two application are working just fine.

    I've made a support ticket at Copy.com, waiting for their official reply.
    Is the support ticket public so that others can +1 or upvote or whatever if the option is available ?
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Beans
    264
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    I've just posted regarding this problem in the community forum and this public. The link is : https://copy.zendesk.com/entries/548...-Ubuntu-14-04-

    I hope many people will vote this post to get their attention. Unfortunately, I've contacted with Copy.com official support but they haven't responded yet.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    I've added a link to this thread. I had to try 3 times before I got the captcha correct
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Beans
    1,223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    I have voted up the thread at copy.com and also left a message explaining the importance of supporting Ubuntu 14.04 properly.
    Using Ubuntu since Warty Warthog (4.10)
    32 bit 5.04>5.10>6.06>6.10>7.04>7.10>8.04>8.10>9.04>9.10
    64 bit 9.10 upgraded to 10.04>10.10>11.04>11.10>12.04>14.04

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    Hopefully, with the new release and the new Ubuntu users coming for a solution after Ubuntu One drops off will help get attention.
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    1

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    Hi guys! I had the same problems as you and wanted to share the updates with you; I still have problems but I think we're close to a fix.
    I have a Ubuntu 14.04 x86_64 with Unity desktop.
    To install CopyAgent:
    - I downloaded it from copy.com
    - I extracted it to /opt/copy
    - I even made a /usr/share/applications/copy.desktop shortcut
    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Version=1.0
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Type=Application
    Name=CopyAgent
    Icon=/opt/copy/logo.png
    Exec=/opt/copy/x86_64/CopyAgent
    Comment=Sync your files across computers and to the web
    Categories=Network;FileTransfer;
    Terminal=false
    StartupNotify=false
    GenericName=File Synchronizer
    (from here the logo.png file)

    - The CopyAgent launched and was actually syncing but without an indicator
    - I installed libappindicator1 and libcanberra-gtk-module (some dependencies?!)
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libappindicator1 libcanberra-gtk-module
    - I made an .icons folder in my home
    Code:
    mkdir -p ~/.icons
    (CopyAgent created some icons on that folder. For the menu?!)

    After doing all of that the indicator is showing but the menu is still messed up: some menu items are showing while others are not!


    I've already opened a thread in askubuntu and a guy is presenting what seems to be a fix for 32bits systems that doesn't work with 64bits systems (my case).

    Any suggestions?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    I have this in /home/bapoumba/.config/autostart/CopyAgent, but this is lubuntu 32-bits and the menu is working :
    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Version=1.0
    Type=Application
    Terminal=false
    StartupNotify=false
    GenericName=File Synchronizer
    Categories=Network;FileTransfer;
    Exec=/opt/copy/CopyAgent
    Icon=/home/bapoumba/.icons/copy-root_folder.png
    Name=CopyAgent
    Comment=Sync files across computers, mobile devices, and to the web
    X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=true
    Attached Images Attached Images
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    1

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    Hello guys,

    The link below solved my problem with indicator icon of Copy:

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/45767...-is-unreadable

    Hope this helps.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Beans
    1,223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    Quote Originally Posted by emersonebfreire View Post
    Hello guys,

    The link below solved my problem with indicator icon of Copy:

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/45767...-is-unreadable

    Hope this helps.
    Have you had any other indicator problems since using the ppa? For example, is your printer indicator still working? I have read that the gurqn ppa prevents the printing indicator and others from appearing.

    One work around I have been experimenting with in 14.04 unity in a virtual machine is just... sudo apt-get install libappindicator1. Then I create a .icons folder in home and finally, open the folder where the copy exectable is in terminal and enter the command... ./CopyAgent & This will put an icon in the launcher. Right click the icon and click to lock it to the launcher. Left clicking this icon will bring up the main copy interface. To pause syncing, just click log out. To restart it, enter your username and password and click to log in again. It's not as elegant as the gurqn ppa, but it's less intrusive on the system and you don't install an untrusted ppa that could break something else. Since the U1 icon is no longer in the launcher, the copy icon simply replaces it.
    Using Ubuntu since Warty Warthog (4.10)
    32 bit 5.04>5.10>6.06>6.10>7.04>7.10>8.04>8.10>9.04>9.10
    64 bit 9.10 upgraded to 10.04>10.10>11.04>11.10>12.04>14.04

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Beans
    1

    Re: Copy.com indicator problem with Ubuntu 14.04

    Well, I just came up with a work-around that also seems to have fixed it for me.

    I'm running 14.04, upgraded from 13.10. I've tried most of the fixes described in this thread without success.

    This morning I installed Kubuntu Desktop, and when I logged in to KDE, the menu worked. I was able to alter my preferences (which was my aim all along) to chance which folders were being synced.

    I've now logged out of KDE and back into Unity, and amazingly, the menu is now working for me.

    HTH,

    C

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •