Thread: Make NFS share universally writable

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Make NFS share universally writable

I'm pretty new to most networking so please bear with me if I use the wrong terminology.

I have a network of PC's at work which I wanted to connect with a shared documents folder to allow people to access documents anywhere. I found out about NFS which is new to me so thought I'd try it. I set up an NFS share on the server and all is running quite well, it's quite easy except an issue I have with permissions, obviously any files made on one pc will be owned by that user and are not writable on another PC. I would like the NFS share to be readable and writable by all computers, I want to make it so that all new files created on the NFS share (no matter which user made them) are writable by any other user on any other computer on the network, there is no internet access so security can be relatively lapse. Can this be done by the NFS setup itself or by basic file permission setups.

What are my options?
    The best I can figure out on my own are to either set a cron script that runs often that runs chmod 777 recursively on the share directory (obviously this is not a good option) or to use a FAT formatted USB for the share directory so that permissions do not apply (I don't even know if that's possible but it's a thought). I hoping people who know more about this subject have more practical and insightful ideas.

Some things to know:
    I am not the sysadmin but I do have root access
    The owner of the PC's (the director) is quite happy for me to do this but the IT people are not willing to help, although quite happy to look the other way
    PC hostnames and usernames cannot be changed
    No internet access
    The PC's are not very up to date (running 10.04 I think)

Thanks for any help provided
    Regards
    Mark
    Catch me on Freenode - imark

Beans

Re: Make NFS share universally writable