Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    944

    Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    The last few versions of Trusty just do not work with my configuration.
    It installs, I can log in, then the desktop is blank.

    I installed Trusty by not selecting to install updates during the installation process.
    Will though retry doing that and post back here.

    I selected "Something Else" and installed root to /dev/sda1, and home to /dev/sdb1.
    Checked to format both partitions as EXT4.

    Earlier when I installed Trusty Alpha 1, it worked with only one exception - that there was an issue
    with workspaces on a dual monitor configuration.

    I am getting concerned that the released Trusty will not work with my hardware configuration:
    - AMD Athlon 64 6400+
    - 8 GB RAM
    - nVidia GeForce 7300 - driving 2 monitors
    - Solid state drive on /dev/sda
    - Sata drives on /dev/sdb, sdc, sdd

    Carl
    Carl
    My other hobby is antique Radios and TV restoration.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    2,336
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    Regular updates are essential for alpha/beta releases. No updates, no fixes.

    Do a "sudo apt-get update", then "sudo apt-get upgrade" (and "sudo apt-get dist-upgrade" if you see anything "held back", as you likely will, including kernels. Try that before installing again.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    When you say "the desktop is blank" do you mean a black screen or just the wallpaper without the top panel or launcher? If we install with the "Install third party software" box ticked then we get a proprietary video driver. That can cause problems.

    If you get a wallpaper then right click the wallpaper and select Change Desktop Background. That will open System Settings. From there we can get to Software and Updates>Additional Drivers tab and experiment with drivers.

    If you cannot do that and Ctrl+Alt+T does not bring up a terminal then try Ctrl+Alt+F2. That should bring up a Linux command line. Log in and run

    Code:
    dconf reset -f /org/compiz
    setsid unity
    The first command resets Compiz and the second resets Unity. Then Ctrl+Alt+F7 to switch back to the desktop.

    Regards.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    944

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    OK, I had to enter Recovery mode and run Fail Safe Graphics to get Trusty to allow me to log in.
    Then dropped to the command prompt and ran the 3 apt-get commands.

    I can log in and get Unity in Fail Safe Graphics - but still cannot do a normal login.
    Could it be something to do with the nVidia driver that Trusty is installing????

    At one point I did see this message ...
    [DRM] GPU lockup - switching to software fbcon
    ... but still the desktop was unresponsive.

    The mouse cursor would move initially then freeze. No icons showing.
    The background color was light brown.

    Carl
    Last edited by cwmoser; April 7th, 2014 at 03:17 PM.
    Carl
    My other hobby is antique Radios and TV restoration.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    944

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    Tried the dconf reset -f /org/compiz and the setsid unity commands -- still get a frozen desktop after logging in.

    Carl
    Carl
    My other hobby is antique Radios and TV restoration.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    4,502
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    As I've mentioned numerous times, did You try using
    Code:
    radeon.dpm=0
    as kernel-boot-line option?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    944

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    Tried adding that Kernel-boot-line option and no help.
    Hope I did it correctly ... selected e to edit options, went down to the linux line and
    appended radeon.dpm=0 then F10. On next boot the edit was not there.
    Didn't see a save command.

    In any case, I have an nVidia card - not an ATI Radeon card.

    Carl
    Carl
    My other hobby is antique Radios and TV restoration.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    4,502
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    Quote Originally Posted by cwmoser View Post
    In any case, I have an nVidia card - not an ATI Radeon card.
    Carl
    Mea culpa, I've seen AMD in Your first message, not recognized it meant processor not a graphic card... Being old and do reading in a hurry is not a good combination...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    8,366
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    Quote Originally Posted by cwmoser View Post
    The last few versions of Trusty just do not work with my configuration.
    It installs, I can log in, then the desktop is blank.

    I installed Trusty by not selecting to install updates during the installation process.
    Will though retry doing that and post back here.

    I selected "Something Else" and installed root to /dev/sda1, and home to /dev/sdb1.
    Checked to format both partitions as EXT4.

    Earlier when I installed Trusty Alpha 1, it worked with only one exception - that there was an issue
    with workspaces on a dual monitor configuration.

    I am getting concerned that the released Trusty will not work with my hardware configuration:
    - AMD Athlon 64 6400+
    - 8 GB RAM
    - nVidia GeForce 7300 - driving 2 monitors
    - Solid state drive on /dev/sda
    - Sata drives on /dev/sdb, sdc, sdd

    Carl
    I just updated my Trusty overclocking box with GeForce 7300 GS (128MB) and it killed the install basically. Those cards (I assume) are obsoleted now most likley because of Mir and Unity. Unity needs more RAM than what the 7300 has to offer (elst it will default to llvmpipe also). However, I can put in my PCIe GeForce 210/218 and it will work no prob.

    Regards..

    edit:

    btw ... what worked for while is that I installed the lubuntu-alternate iso and then downloaded ubuntu-desktop on top of that. It worked great for a long time until todays update and now it defaults into llvmpipe (really crappy graphics). This is usally an indication that the adapter card is no longer being supported by the drivers, however, I have nVidia Control Center installed so perhaps nouveau might work.
    Last edited by ventrical; April 8th, 2014 at 05:40 PM. Reason: wrong assumption
    This is Convergence
    Ubuntu Development Version Testing Blog Remarks
    Running 16.04 on Mobo: MSI model: B85-G41 PC Mate(MS-7850) v: 1.0

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    4

    Re: Trusty - installs, can log in, then nothing ...

    @cwmoser
    I also have the similar problem, cannot login to ubuntu 14.04 after upgrade from 13.10, but now I have succeed to login ^_^. Check my answer at askubuntu below. hope it will help u.http://askubuntu.com/questions/42372.../439472#439472

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •