Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do I need a swap partition?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

Question Do I need a swap partition?

This is at least curious, I thought that linux needed a swap partition, but in the last install I forgot to create one, the installation continued, and my system runs smoothly, I have 16 GB of ram, so I think it wont use it ever, but Im no expert in linux, so I dont know if at upgrading the system, for example, I will need it, or not, my ubuntu is working with a partition for / and another for /home, nothing else, so thats my question, do I need to make room for a swap partition with gparted using the live usb?, in that case, what size?, 16GB its too much, I have it installed on a 256GB SSD, so free space matters, and I dont want to create a useless partition, what do you think?.

Thanks.
    Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Do I need a swap partition?

With 16GB of RAM, you will not likely use swap during normal operations, as you have already found.

If you ever plan to hibernate, you will need a swap partition as this is where the contents of RAM is stored. This is why a swap at least the size of RAM is recommended.
    David D.
    Ubuntu 17.04 64-bit on HP Envy 17

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

NEED? No.
    Is it a REALLY, REALLY, good idea? Probably. Hard to know. It completely depends on the workload.