Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Indiana, United States
    Beans
    764

    14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

    Am I the only one getting this problem today? This is the third problem I've ran into today in the beta and it's seriously making me want to ditch it.
    Whoever came up with the phrase "There is no such thing as a stupid question" obviously never had the internet.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    2

    Re: 14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

    I suspect this is related to a slew of other bugs introduced in the updates today, many of which seem to stem from a permissions/session start up issue. If there is an issue with polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 as suggested in this thread, it would likely be affecting the ability of the user to mount and unmount drives (and could also be related to the disappearance of the suspend/shut down/restart options from this bug).

    Have you tried mounting the external device from a terminal (with sudo)? This would help confirm a permissions issue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Indiana, United States
    Beans
    764

    Re: 14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

    I was able to mount via cli just fine. No error messages
    Whoever came up with the phrase "There is no such thing as a stupid question" obviously never had the internet.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hamunaptra
    Beans
    620
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: 14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

    This was happening sometime back for me, and I had stopped using thumb drives, cause system would freeze.

    But after the upgrade which brought in the 3.13.0-21 kernel, this problem went away.
    I have not upgraded since.
    bhatta

    May the Source be with you !
    Ash nazg durbatulūk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulūk, agh
    'Buntu-ishi krimpatul !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    1

    Re: 14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

    I observe the same with 14.04.

    More annoyingly I enquired on IRC as to why this bug was marked as Low (they were more angry at the word pissed than the report), apparently mounting a USB pen drive or hard drive isn't too important for XUbuntu so they're happy with Low (and thus unlikely to be fixed prior to final release) -although granted they link upstream where its marked as Normal. Like the release before last with the 2 minute login XUbuntu is no longer an out the box distro nor does it aim to be. I may just go Unity.. Long come are the days were XUbuntu was solid (and aimed to be) aka 12.04/12.10

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM US
    Beans
    314
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

    FWIW Xubuntu 64 all the latest updates mounts usb and hard drives fine for me...it would be VERY annoying if it did not.

    EDIT: Running 3.14
    Last edited by rtalcott; April 6th, 2014 at 10:42 PM. Reason: add kernel
    cheap hardware....LOTS of it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hamunaptra
    Beans
    620
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: 14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

    Running 3.13.0-23 there is no problem of sound.
    ~$ uname -a
    Linux nbe42 3.13.0-23-lowlatency #45-Ubuntu SMP PREEMPT Fri Apr 4 07:16:25 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    Guess it is time to mark this as 'Solved'
    bhatta

    May the Source be with you !
    Ash nazg durbatulūk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulūk, agh
    'Buntu-ishi krimpatul !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    2,856

    Re: 14.04 Lost Ability to Mount External Media

    Quote Originally Posted by mamamia88 View Post
    Am I the only one getting this problem today? This is the third problem I've ran into today in the beta and it's seriously making me want to ditch it.
    I do not have xubuntu loaded at this time but I had to go into Input Devices and check mark the top 3 boxes. Even after some updates I had to go back and do the same. To me it's a bug as it only happens to Xubuntu beta and above.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •