Thread: Building a new kernel from source

Hybrid View

Beans

Building a new kernel from source

I'm no newbie regarding linux, and have compiled tons of kernels many times.

But it's been awhile for ubuntu.

The info on various pages in the wiki is just not clear, like this page: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Kernel/BuildYourOwnKernel

It assumes the reader knows where the directory "debian" is without stating it's path. Is it under the source tree? (I'm downloading the src now so can't look on my system yet)

I'm sure there's a convention I'm just not remembering for ubuntu (waaay back in the early days linux src was always located under /usr/local/linux or /usr/local/src/linux, a symlink to the particular kernel version tree), but when terms like "fakeroot" and "debian" are used they should be defined, at least on "newbie" oriented pages.

Also, I didn't see a more appropriate forum to post this in from those listed, so I hope this is the best place for this topic.

---------------

Getting all the prerequisite packages required to build the kernel is a pain. I tried using https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Kernel/BuildYourOwnKernel but it's not sufficient; I had to get ncurses-dev[el] for one example and kernel-package is another. Granted, the mythbuntu ISO is a purpose built distribution stripped of a lot of things, but the errors I'm dealing with just indicate "apt-get build-dep linux-image-$(uname -r)" does not provide all the tools / prerequisites required to rebuild the kernel from source as the wiki states.

And when I run
    Code:
    fakeroot debian/rules binary-headers binary-generic
    it fails saying I need to run mrproper. But if I do it wipes the debian folder!
    Code:
    #
    # configuration written to .config
    #
    SYSHDR arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/uapi/asm/unistd_32.h
    SYSHDR arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/uapi/asm/unistd_64.h
    SYSHDR arch/x86/syscalls/../include/generated/uapi/asm/unistd_x32.h