Thread: which /usr/src/linux-headers.../arch/<?library.h> should i use, CodeBlocks

Beans

Question which /usr/src/linux-headers.../arch/<?library.h> should i use, CodeBlocks

I am a new GCC user, using Code Blocks, on Lubuntu, Dell P4 pentium, and I am an experienced C programmer.
    I am starting a new C project from existing code and need advice on the path to the correct library for my program given my Lubuntu installation.
    My Lubuntu installation includes include libraries for many different hardware and OS instillation dates. I am guessing i need the x86 (32-bit processor) directory resulting in the following total path: "/usr/src/linux-headers-3.11.0-18/arch/x86" but there is also the "/usr/src/linux-headers-3.11.0-18-generic/arch/x86" path as well. To add confusion, a search on a specific library returns the same library in many unrelated locations.

So, please advise:
    1) which library path should i use?
    2) is there a PATH variable which automatically defines the correct path for my installation?
    3) does Code Blocks have the ability to automatically select the correct library path?

I know that i can use the ./configure script on downloaded source code, then command line compile, but my intent is to understand and rebuild the code using an IDE. I have done a Ubuntu forum search, but am not experienced enough to answer my question. I intend to upgrade my code to the latest system libraries, and the downloaded configure script may specify paths to old or modified libraries.

Thanks, axoloti

Beans

Re: which /usr/src/linux-headers.../arch/<?library.h> should i use, CodeBlocks

Hello and welcome to the forums