Thread: Hello, im new and id like to take my first steps into linux server hosting.

Hybrid View

Beans

Hello, im new and id like to take my first steps into linux server hosting.

Heya =)

My name is Dennis im a 25 year IT student from the netherlands.
    I realy love playing indie games a lot, specialy games alike Terraria.

Im making this post on the Ubuntu forums because im looking for some help i stil cant find (this isnt the first forum for me)
    I usualy ask some people in my gaming-clan or my favorite overclock forum :3

But Thus far nobody has be able to help me to fix my linux related problems.

I went to get UBuntu server install, and i just tried it out actualy.
    That part went oke, except for something binaries......? or some basic folders i forgot what is was called (im sorry i dont remember what this was exactly)
    BUt i *just* choose one of them at random to contiu the installation.

Most of my problem related to Steamcmd , something with actualy downloading the server files onto the machine.

I never managed to figure it out and i gave up

wich actualy makes me sad Because i dont like to give up on these things (spent my entire weekend on it)

So my reason of this post and introduction is to search for somebody who wants and could help me figure all this beginner stuff out.

-----First Edit-----

Alright i see u having problems understand me , i have this isseu sometimes duo my native dutch language.
    But i wil try my best to keep it simple in lines where i am trying to explain something.

First off , id like to know where to start.

I got a version of Ubuntu Server, with just a terminal. Im very new to this but id love to slowly get used to it in some fun way.
    This is why i want to host little Dedicated Game Server on a self made Linux Machine.

The Pc i have ready to be playing the role of Host / Server =)
    (I have 2 HDD's into the machine to manualy switch harddrive if i make mistakes or try multiple OS setups)