Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu/eOS not booting because of "efidisk read error".

Ubuntu/eOS not booting because of "efidisk read error".

Hello Ubuntu Community,
    first of let me introduce myself to you.
    I am a newbie at Linux, but I just love overall the Linux Distros, I can't really say why, maybe because I kinda hate Windows, maybe because I love Open Source Projects where you can learn something however yesterday I was brave enough to install elementaryOS (dualBoot it with Windows8), it was kinda a hell to find out how to install it on a pre-installed Windows 8 Laptop. However yesterday it worked perfectly, nothing wrong everything expected as planned , though I couldn't start Windows because of some error called "command 'drive not found" or something similiar, however I looked over at Google and the UbuntuForums and found out that I should probably install Boot-Repair and repair "common errors", however I did everything as it was instructed to me, then Windows 8 could start, but Elementary OS couldn't. It said for like 1-2 seconds something about "efidisk read error", and immidatley went to GNU Grub or something like that (somehow looked like a Terminal without and interface). However I am not able to boot into elementaryOS, but Windows 8 works perfectly, any suggestions?
    thank you!
    The pastebin btw, http://paste.ubuntu.com/7050506/ , something to do with Grub I guess?
    Last edited by anything else really; March 14th, 2014 at 10:45 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Ubuntu/eOS not booting because of "efidisk read error".

I'm taking a guess here but maybe UEFI is causing issues? See the guide here and hopefully that helps.
    Good site to search for guides & how-tos.

Does that mean I have to reinstall eOS?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Thread moved to the "Other OS/Distro Support" forum.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus