Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 57

Thread: Broadcom BCM4311

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    72

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ cd Desktop
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Desktop$ sudo dpkg -i linux-firmware*.deb
    dpkg: error processing linux-firmware*.deb (--install):
     cannot access archive: No such file or directory
    Errors were encountered while processing:
     linux-firmware*.deb
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Desktop$
    Cookies=the little boogers that lock down mouse buttons on a laptop.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,116

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    Quote Originally Posted by Buenadriver View Post
    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Desktop$ sudo dpkg -i linux-firmware*.deb
    dpkg: error processing linux-firmware*.deb (--install):
     cannot access archive: No such file or directory
    Errors were encountered while processing:
     linux-firmware*.deb
    Means the file "linux-firmware-nonfree_1.14ubuntu1_all.deb" was not present on your Desktop.

    Did you download it?
    Did you copy it to your Desktop before running the "sudo dpkg..." command?

    The direct download link is : http://mirrors.kernel.org/ubuntu/poo...buntu1_all.deb

    The downloaded file should be "linux-firmware-nonfree_1.14ubuntu1_all.deb"
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    72

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ cd Desktop
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Desktop$ 
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Desktop$ sudo dpkg -i linux-firmware*.deb
    (Reading database ... 148949 files and directories currently installed.)
    Preparing to replace linux-firmware-nonfree 1.14ubuntu1 (using linux-firmware-nonfree_1.14ubuntu1_all.deb) ...
    Unpacking replacement linux-firmware-nonfree ...
    Setting up linux-firmware-nonfree (1.14ubuntu1) ...
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Desktop$
    Now I have an OPENED linux-firmware nonfree 1.14ubuntu1_all.d... on desktop which I hope returned the info you were asking for.
    Cookies=the little boogers that lock down mouse buttons on a laptop.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,116

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    Yup, it seems it was installed properly this time. Now the required firmware should be ready for the driver.

    Now, please either reboot, or manually reload the driver with -
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -rv b43
    sudo modprobe -v b43
    Your wireless should be working now. If not, please post back the outputs of -
    Code:
    dpkg | grep -e wl -e b43
    dmesg | grep -e wl -e b43
    rfkill list
    Last edited by varunendra; March 8th, 2014 at 07:51 PM.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    72

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ dpkg | grep -e wl -e b43
    dpkg: error: need an action option
    
    Type dpkg --help for help about installing and deinstalling packages[*];
    Use `dselect' or `aptitude' for user-friendly package management;
    Type dpkg -Dhelp for a list of dpkg debug flag values;
    Type dpkg --force-help for a list of forcing options;
    Type dpkg-deb --help for help about manipulating *.deb files;
    
    Options marked[*] produce a lot of output - pipe it through `less' or `more' !
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ rfkill list
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$
    Cookies=the little boogers that lock down mouse buttons on a laptop.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,116

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    Quote Originally Posted by Buenadriver View Post
    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ dpkg | grep -e wl -e b43
    dpkg: error: need an action option
    Oops! Sorry, my mistake this time - it should have been "dmesg", not dpkg.

    Have you rebooted? Is it still not working? If so, please try the corrected command -
    Code:
    dmesg | grep -e wl -e b43
    ..and post back the output.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    72

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ dmesg | grep -e wl -e b43
    [   68.868387] b43-phy0: Broadcom 4311 WLAN found (core revision 10)
    [   68.912058] b43-phy0: Found PHY: Analog 4, Type 2 (G), Revision 8
    [   70.306617] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43/ucode5.fw" not found
    [   70.306625] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43-open/ucode5.fw" not found
    [   70.306629] b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#devicefirmware and download the correct firmware for this driver version. Please carefully read all instructions on this website.
    [  530.688083] b43-phy0: Found PHY: Analog 4, Type 2 (G), Revision 8
    [  530.762855] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43/ucode5.fw" not found
    [  530.762869] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43-open/ucode5.fw" not found
    [  530.762877] b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#devicefirmware and download the correct firmware for this driver version. Please carefully read all instructions on this website.
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$
    Cookies=the little boogers that lock down mouse buttons on a laptop.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,116

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    Are you trying this on a Live CD/DVD/USB?

    That is, Ubuntu running from a Live CD/DVD or Live USB, not the one "Installed" and running from hard disk.

    If so, all the changes will be lost on reboot unless it is a Live USB with "Persistence". Hence the installed firmware will be lost too.

    Please confirm and I'll let you know what can be done in that case.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    72

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    I have problems rebooting. To reboot from the hard puts up a grey screen with vertical lines and that sets there for about 15 mins. until it times out. Then I can tap the curser and it boots. But I then don't have ANY internet connection. So I put the install cd in the drive and start an install until I get to the first quit button. I click on the quit button and it boots. I understand now what you are saying about changes being lost. I don't have a usb stick yet, to work with.
    Cookies=the little boogers that lock down mouse buttons on a laptop.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,116

    Re: Broadcom BCM4311

    If you want to activate the wifi on a Live session running from the CD, you'll have to install the driver EVERY TIME you boot in that way. Then, instead of rebooting, run the two "modprobe.." commands I suggested. That will re-load the driver without rebooting. Your wifi will start working at this point, but you'll have to do it all again on next reboot.

    In detail, the above process will go as follows -

    1) Install the firmware : Download it from the link I gave > Copy it to the Desktop > Install it with "sudo dpkg -i linux-firmware*.deb" command as I suggested before.

    2) Reload the driver : After the firmware package has been successfully installed as above, run the following commands to reload the driver without rebooting -
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -rv b43
    sudo modprobe -v b43

    If you do this on the 'Installed' system, the one that is running from hard disk, not the CD, then the above process will be required only once. The driver will work automatically since next boot.

    The grey screen + vertical lines problem you mentioned sounds like a graphichs issue. But once you have gone past it, do you get a usable desktop on which you can perform the above steps? If yes, it will be only one time process. The wireless should work afterwards (since next boot).

    I would be glad to help with the installed version. I have already mentioned above how you can get wireless in Live session. Let me know what you need now.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •