Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: How is gnome working now with trusty?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How is gnome working now with trusty?

    just got an upgrade error

    and the upgrade quits
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Coquitlam, B.C. Canada
    Beans
    2,393
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: How is gnome working now with trusty?

    My Gnome shell log on option has not worked since about January 17th. Eventually I learned of the "xrandr" trick mentioned a few posts back, and was able to use it. However, and as of yesterdays (or was it the day before? it's becoming a blur) it doesn't work at all.

    For me an interesting note is that back at the end of January I finally got the ear of someone that really seemed to know what was going on. He said "Oh ya, this [part of the upgrade] is incompatible with that [a part that was not upgraded]. Try my PPA". I built a brand new GNOME install from the trusty daily of the time, proved it still didn't work, added the PPA, did an update/upgrade cycle and everything was perfect. Been waiting ever since.

    By the way, my unity desktop shell is also completely broken and has been since about Monday. Compiz just crashes with a segfault

    Edit: After the second upgrades of today, my gnome is back working the way it has been since January 17th. If I use the "xrandr" trick then it seems to be O.K.

    References:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu-gnome/+bug/1273276
    http://irclogs.ubuntu.com/2014/01/30...me.html#t21:22
    http://irclogs.ubuntu.com/2014/01/31/%23ubuntu-gnome.html

    Last edited by Doug S; February 22nd, 2014 at 10:43 PM.
    Any follow-up information on your issue would be appreciated. Please have the courtesy to report back.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How is gnome working now with trusty?

    I had to wipe and reinstall the os.
    Now running on 14.04
    Gnome shell is fine.
    Got nvidia driver 331.38 from xorg-edgers.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,224

    Re: How is gnome working now with trusty?

    grep -Fn 'NVIDIA' /var/log/Xorg.8.log ( think this only applies on mine Bumblebee install might be the Xorg.0.log )

    as you are running the Nvidia 8400gs I think ..........

    To check if it all loads ok ...........

    Have you got better vlc playback now ?

    also

    grep -Fn 'GLX' /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; February 23rd, 2014 at 12:41 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
    Beans
    2,468
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How is gnome working now with trusty?

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    I had to wipe and reinstall the os.
    Now running on 14.04
    Gnome shell is fine.
    Got nvidia driver 331.38 from xorg-edgers.
    I installed 331.38 from the additional drivers page. That seems to have smoothed things out on the AMD/Nvidia machine.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How is gnome working now with trusty?

    No EE errors.

    Problem now is I cant get xorg.conf to have any effect. Everything in there ignored.

    Code:
    scott@scott-P5QC:~$ grep -Fn 'nvidia' /var/log/Xorg.0.log 
    96:[    17.003] (II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
    97:[    17.003] (II) Loading /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/xorg/extra-modules/nvidia_drv.so
    98:[    17.003] (II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
    137:[    17.712] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Found DRM driver nvidia-drm (20130102)
    177:[    18.033] (II) NVIDIA(0): [DRI2]   VDPAU driver: nvidia
    306:[    20.305] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "TV-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0 {ViewPortIn=1024x768, ViewPortOut=1024x768+0+0}"
    307:[    20.473] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select @1680x1050 +1024+0 {ViewPortIn=1680x1050, ViewPortOut=1680x1050+0+0}, TV-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0 {ViewPortIn=1024x768, ViewPortOut=1024x768+0+0}"
    322:[    25.318] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select @1680x1050 +1024+0 {ViewPortIn=1680x1050, ViewPortOut=1680x1050+0+0}"
    323:[    25.454] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select @1680x1050 +1024+0 {ViewPortIn=1680x1050, ViewPortOut=1680x1050+0+0}, TV-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0 {ViewPortIn=1024x768, ViewPortOut=1024x768+0+0}"
    372:[  9415.147] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "TV-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0 {ViewPortIn=1024x768, ViewPortOut=1024x768+0+0}"
    374:[  9415.505] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select @1680x1050 +0+0 {ViewPortIn=1680x1050, ViewPortOut=1680x1050+0+0}"
    380:[  9421.596] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select @1680x1050 +1024+0 {ViewPortIn=1680x1050, ViewPortOut=1680x1050+0+0}"
    381:[  9421.699] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select @1680x1050 +1024+0 {ViewPortIn=1680x1050, ViewPortOut=1680x1050+0+0}, TV-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0 {ViewPortIn=1024x768, ViewPortOut=1024x768+0+0}"
    387:[  9537.188] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DPY-2:nvidia-auto-select+0+0,DPY-3:nvidia-auto-select+1024+0"
    393:[  9567.554] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DPY-2:nvidia-auto-select+1680+0,DPY-3:nvidia-auto-select+0+0"
    scott@scott-P5QC:~$

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How is gnome working now with trusty?

    Code:
    9421.699] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select @1680x1050 +1024+0 {ViewPortIn=1680x1050, ViewPortOut=1680x1050+0+0}, TV-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0 {ViewPortIn=1024x768, ViewPortOut=1024x768+0+0}"
    I see its loading TV-0 left of DVI-I-1

    And this is contrary to xorg.conf

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •