Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Graphics Acceleration in Ubuntu 12.04 32-bit

Beans

Graphics Acceleration in Ubuntu 12.04 32-bit

I'm very new to using Ubuntu. I recently had boot issues with Windows 7 (freezing during boot) and just happend to have an Ubuntu 32 bit disk laying around that a friend gave me years ago. I loaded that on a partition, updated it to 12.04 and was able use it to retrieve my data. Long story short, I haven't been able to fix Windows 7 or get my boot disk to load to reformat and reinstall. Since it all seems to work fine with the Ubuntu I have I've given up on windows 7. I just want to leave well enough alone.
    My guilty pleasure is playing Farmville 2. When I go to the Zynga site to play I get the message "You are playing FarmVille 2 without graphics acceleration..." And it's so slow I can't play. I got the latest version of flash so that isn't the problem.
    I have a Nvidia GeForce GTS450 graphics card. I think my problem is that I don't have a proper driver installed to maximize my graphics potential or it could be a 32bit vs 64bit issue. I've also looked at the available Nvidia drivers in the software center and am not sure if any of these will fix my problem. After reading bad reviews, that I don't really understand, for the NVidia binary X.Org driver ('current' driver) I'm afraid of just trying something out and hoping for the best. The last thing I want to do is crash my system.
    Any advice would be much appreciated.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

Re: Graphics Acceleration in Ubuntu 12.04 32-bit

Hi Alyx_Mazerov

Ubuntu 12.04 normally uses the opensource 'nouveau' drivers [1] for Nvidia graphics cards which is probably not supporting the graphics acceleration you need for FarmVille 2.