Thread: Ubuntu Mini ISO - is it possible to create a bootable ISO?

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Question Ubuntu Mini ISO - is it possible to create a bootable ISO?

Hi,

First of all, if this is not the right sub-forum for such question, feel free to move this there where it belongs.

Second of all, I am not a developer so easy on me

Some think it is possible. Some other think it is not possible. I am lost in between.

Is it possible to make a bootable ISO out of a modified mini ISO ? or it is not possible?

Many thanks

Beans

Re: Ubuntu Mini ISO - is it possible to create a bootable ISO?

Quote Originally Posted by amjjawad View Post
    Is it possible to make a bootable ISO out of a modified mini ISO ?
    I suppose so. The ordinary, unmodified mini .iso is already bootable.
    However, it's not very useful for general-purpose activity because it lacks most of the tools you need. It's shell environment lacks a lot of basic functionality you expect.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Quote Originally Posted by ian-weisser View Post
    I suppose so. The ordinary, unmodified mini .iso is already bootable.
    However, it's not very useful for general-purpose activity because it lacks most of the tools you need. It's shell environment lacks a lot of basic functionality you expect.
    Hi and thanks for posting

It is indeed bootable. What I was trying to say/ask is:
    Can I create a LiveCD/LiveUSB version of a system that is based on Ubuntu Mini ISO with some modification?

Example:
    Ubuntu Mini ISO + DE/WM + File Manager + Browser + Terminal + Synaptic = Create New Bootable ISO that can be downloaded and installed.