Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Using an ubuntu machine as a file server on a wireless network

Beans

Using an ubuntu machine as a file server on a wireless network

Okay, this is the absolute beginner section, right? So I am a complete and total beginner and noob and all that. I'm that guy that makes you say "we all had to start somewhere".

OBJECTIVE: Use an old crappy netbook as a file server.

REASON: I have a Macbook, my wife has a Windows Laptop and we can't swap hard drives for a common source of files. I have an old netbook lying around and decided to use it to both reach my (above) objective, but also to learn a little about ubuntu. I didn't want to spend any money to reach this objective if possible.

STATS: My Macbook runs OSX 10.9.1. My wife's laptop runs Windows XP. The net book now runs Ubuntu 13.04. I have a wireless router that spreads interwebs all over my house and I have my mac, my wife's lappy, the netbook and a couple of phones and internet enabled devices connected to it.

PROGRESS: I have bumbled my way through installing ubuntu. Took ages and a couple of goes, but it seems to be working. I have haven't really done anything with it though as I still don't know what I'm doing.

That mostly covers where I'm up to.

From here, I need some help because it's just not coming together for me. I also hope that this thread will help others in my position. I would love it if everyone treated me as some thawed out caveman that needs to be stepped through every single step.

So.... I'm not sure what the next step is. I want to be able to log onto the mac and see the hard drive hanging off the unbuntu machine so I can save stuff to it. I want the same to happen for the windows PC.

Where do I go from here?

Keith

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

Re: Using an ubuntu machine as a file server on a wireless network (NOOB)