Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Coming from windows... many, many basic questions

Beans

Coming from windows... many, many basic questions

Hi everyone,

I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I am coming from windows and trying to get Ubuntu working in a VM. It's running fine but I am not really as productive as I'd like and many things are foreign. So go easy on me . I don't know the lingo or the ins and outs. Feel free to only answer what you know or only a few.

So, a gigantic bunch of questions to get started:
    1. In the "home folder" (I guess explorer equivalent?), How can I see the path to the current folder?
    2. Where are the home folder/desktop/documents/downloads located?
    3. Is there a way to quickly type in a folder path?
    4. Can I make a quick link or way to get to the usr folder? Like a shortcut of some kind?
    5. What does bin stand for? what sort of files are stored there?
    6. What does etc stand for? what sort of files are stored there?
    7. What does var stand for? (not variable, it seems?)
    8. What does sudo mean?
    9. How do I find terminal commands to install programs? So far I have been doing a search every time for the proper "apt-get" command.
    10. How can I install a program automatically with all of its dependencies? How can I install a program automatically withits recommended packages?
    11. How do I find out what will be installed by a program? The contents of a package.
    12. If I run apt-get install twice, what happens? Is the previous install just overwritten, or do I get a warning, or what?
    13. How can I see file extensions? Many files do not seem to have any extensions.
    14. A BIG usability one: Is there a way to make the scrollbar permanent? Its WAY too hard to make appear with the mouse and click on in some situations. And I do want to use a mouse. I am *really* having trouble here, I can't even navigate open windows well because the scrollbar is so hard to use.