Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    1

    Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    I've been using Bumblebee for quite some time with the edgers repo and nvidia-331 drivers. Yesterday's Trusty updates seem to have broken Bumblebee for me - OpenGL apps just immediately segfault.

    I notice yesterdays updates included things such as:

    libglapi-mesa:amd64 (10.1.0~git20140117.1c5e2965-0ubuntu0sarvatt, 10.1.0~git20140124.43e77215-0ubuntu0ricotz2), libglapi-mesa:i386 (10.1.0~git20140117.1c5e2965-0ubuntu0sarvatt, 10.1.0~git20140124.43e77215-0ubuntu0ricotz2), libgles2-mesa:amd64 (10.1.0~git20140117.1c5e2965-0ubuntu0sarvatt, 10.1.0~git20140124.43e77215-0ubuntu0ricotz2), libgl1-mesa-glx:amd64 (10.1.0~git20140117.1c5e2965-0ubuntu0sarvatt, 10.1.0~git20140124.43e77215-0ubuntu0ricotz2), libgl1-mesa-glx:i386 (10.1.0~git20140117.1c5e2965-0ubuntu0sarvatt...

    which I assume are the cause.

    I've tried re-installing bumblebee, nvdia-331, bumblebee-nvidia, bbswitch-dkms, and primus, then restarting bumblebeed to no avail.

    Anyone else seeing problems, or is it just me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    194

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    Note: I just regained access to my old account, so if anyone PMs, this is the one to send to.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    Could you post any errors you see when you run:
    Code:
    sudo service bumblebeed restart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Beans
    274
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    Which kernel version are you running? The nvidia drivers don't currently work with 3.13 - I've downloaded 3.12 from the mainline ppa and this works fine for me in conjunction with bumblebee.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    I was googled here and I'm suffering the same issues.

    For me, no errors when restarting bumblebeed service.

    syslog
    syslog.txt

    Xorg.8.log
    Xorg.8.log.txt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    Quote Originally Posted by muhsli View Post
    I was googled here and I'm suffering the same issues.

    For me, no errors when restarting bumblebeed service.

    syslog
    syslog.txt

    Xorg.8.log
    Xorg.8.log.txt
    Does running glxgears give you any errors in the console?
    Code:
    optirun glxgears

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    194

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    Quote Originally Posted by ubudog View Post
    Could you post any errors you see when you run:
    Code:
    sudo service bumblebeed restart
    I don't get any errors. It restarts the service normally.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    194

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    Quote Originally Posted by jmmL View Post
    Which kernel version are you running? The nvidia drivers don't currently work with 3.13 - I've downloaded 3.12 from the mainline ppa and this works fine for me in conjunction with bumblebee.
    It's been working fine for me with 3.13.0-1 through 3.13.0-5 until yesterday.
    Last edited by 3vi1; January 25th, 2014 at 08:16 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    Quote Originally Posted by 3vi1 View Post
    I don't get any errors. It restarts the service normally.
    Could you post the output of this?
    Code:
    ps ax | grep -i bumblebee
    Also, does glxgears give you any errors when run with optirun?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    194

    Re: Bumblebee/Primus broken for anyone else?

    Quote Originally Posted by ubudog View Post
    Does running glxgears give you any errors in the console?
    Code:
    optirun glxgears
    glxgears and glxspheres run with optirun, but not with primusrun.

    When run with optirun, the performance is not what it should be; primusrun normally gives me nearly 300fps, whereas optirun gives me 150fps - which is about the same as just using the intel HD4000 graphics:

    Code:
    evil@clevo:~$ vblank_mode=0 optirun glxspheres64
    Polygons in scene: 62464
    Visual ID of window: 0x20
    Context is Direct
    OpenGL Renderer: GeForce GTX 670MX/PCIe/SSE2
    153.675908 frames/sec - 171.502313 Mpixels/sec
    154.442926 frames/sec - 172.358305 Mpixels/sec
    155.194462 frames/sec - 173.197020 Mpixels/sec
    152.172838 frames/sec - 169.824887 Mpixels/sec
    
    evil@clevo:~$ vblank_mode=0 glxspheres64
    Polygons in scene: 62464
    ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
    ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
    Visual ID of window: 0x20
    Context is Direct
    OpenGL Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Mobile 
    168.912489 frames/sec - 188.506338 Mpixels/sec
    141.498887 frames/sec - 157.912758 Mpixels/sec
    142.448886 frames/sec - 158.972957 Mpixels/sec
    142.692777 frames/sec - 159.245139 Mpixels/sec
    
    evil@clevo:~$ vblank_mode=0 primusrun glxspheres64
    ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
    ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
    Polygons in scene: 62464
    ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
    ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
    Visual ID of window: 0x20
    Context is Direct
    OpenGL Renderer: GeForce GTX 670MX/PCIe/SSE2
    ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
    ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
    Segmentation fault (core dumped)
    evil@clevo:~$

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •