Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Transition from mac to linux user

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Transition from mac to linux user

Hey guys I'm a newbie ubuntu user,

I was a win user, now converted to mac but always wanted to work using linux. Anyways, I already tried to install several distros (OpenSuse and Fedora) on my old dell latitude and actually my favorite and the one running most smoothly was ubuntu so I guess I should stick to it

The thing is, work is great on the mac (compared to win), and therefore I only tried occasionally Ubuntu for fun using a virtual machine, till now...

I was wondering if its worth to install a dual boot on the mac, anyone some positive experience to share? Did someone switch from mac to linux? Do you use both for work (e.g. office, scientific plotting)?

thanks for sharing

Beans

My personal opinion

I would recommend that the mac you leave it that way (because a mac is the only one that will have that operative system). If you don´t use windows anymore, you could use your other computer to install linux Operative Systems.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

Re: Transition from mac to linux user

IMHO it depends on your views. For me, I wouldn't bother with Mac OS because I don't care about a non-free OS. Your view will of course be different.

Mac hardware is usually highly regarded as being very stable and reliant. But than it may be that hardware support from Linux might be lacking. Esp. in the now old PowerPC days this has been quite a problem. I'm not sure how much of a problem it still is.

If I were you I'd just give it a try with dual boot. I'm sure you'll soon find yourself booting more often to Linux instead of Mac OS.

Beans