Thread: Password protect a file?

Hybrid View

Beans

Password protect a file?

Ok, so... I'm new to linux. I mean really new. As in I only started using it a couple days ago.
    So basically this is my situation - I'm used to windows, been using it all my life and have used linux/mac only intermittently and never owned a pc running the OS. I have actually worked as an IT administrator in the past, but still only worked on windows. So basically I know windows very well but I'm having a few hiccups transitioning to ubuntu....
    I was given an old laptop (really really old.... 2003) by a friend, and decided to install lubuntu on it because XP was running slow- it only has a single core 1.5GHz processor and 512mb 333MHz RAM. It will support 2GB of RAM, but RAM that old is nearly £30 and I'm not paying that much haha. I'm only using it to display photos, and am considering one of those "convert an old laptop into a digital photo frame" projects.

So..... here's my issue:
    I want to password protect a file. Just one file. I don't want to encrypt/archive it, as I will be using it fairly often, but I also don't want to have to use my password to log in every time I use the computer. I literally JUST want to have to enter a password each time I access this ONE file so that no one else but me can open it.
    The file is a text document with some commands that I've set up as an executable file to launch an image viewer (feh) with some settings to play a slideshow of photos in a specific folder. I'm sure you can guess what kind of photos these are if I don't want anyone else to be able to view them.

So - is there a way to do this? So that I literally double click the file, type in a password, and it executes?

Beans

Re: Password protect a file?

The file is a text document with some commands that I've set up as an executable file to launch an image viewer...