Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: how do i drop to multiple terminals with no gui?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    210

    how do i drop to multiple terminals with no gui?

    the title pretty much covers it, just wondering how to close the gui and keep my 2 terminal sessions running, i want to maximize my cpu for the terminal processes.

    thanks
    beelzebufo

    forgot to mention i am using ubuntu gnome 13.10 on a little crappy laptop (dell d620)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Oblivion
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: how do i drop to multiple terminals with no gui?

    Why use a GUI at all? When you say GUI do you mean the desktop environment? If so, why not just install the server version? That has no DE. Or install a minimal install and don't include a DE. That easy.
    Last edited by Bucky Ball; December 22nd, 2013 at 01:37 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: how do i drop to multiple terminals with no gui?

    Or install just a window manager and skip usilng a full desktop environment. XFCE FVWM does the job nicely. oroborus is probably the smallest.
    Last edited by Lars Noodén; December 22nd, 2013 at 03:22 PM. Reason: xfce -> fvwm

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Beans
    4,187

    Re: how do i drop to multiple terminals with no gui?

    Perhaps you have discovered that when you close the GUI, all child processes are terminated...including terminal window tasks.

    You could start the process from an existing non-GUI TTY.
    For example, CTRL+ALT+F1

    Or you can start the process from a terminal within the GUI using the nohup command, which will ignore the terminate signal when you logout of the GUI, and redirect output to a file.
    See man nohup. It's very easy to use.

    If the process is headless (reads/writes files instead of keyboard/display), then you can start it from dbus or Upstart so it won't be associated with the GUI.
    That's a bit more complex, but not difficult. Upstart syntax is quite straightforward.
    Last edited by ian-weisser; December 22nd, 2013 at 03:38 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    12,234
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: how do i drop to multiple terminals with no gui?

    beelzebufo; Hi !

    In addition to all the other most excellent means, here is another:
    ctl+alt+f2
    Code:
    startx -- :1
    ctl+alt+f8

    As an example, one can have as many active terminals as one needs.

    just my 2 bits worth
    THE current(cy) in Documentation:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PopularPages

    Happy ubuntu'n !

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    210

    Re: how do i drop to multiple terminals with no gui?

    thanks to all, i did mean without a desktop environment thanks for the correction on that, but the reason i don't just install server and ssh into it is that this is my only computer right now so i do need gnome from time to time as well. i will try all the other suggestions and get back to y'all on which works best.

    Thanks again
    beelzebufo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: how do i drop to multiple terminals with no gui?

    You can also try screen:
    community/Screen

    Processes you run in a screen session aren't stopped when the session is detached.

    You can start a screen session in your terminal emulator (GUI) detach it (or close the terminal or even log out from the GUI) and re-attach the session in a virtual console (CLI) or vice versa.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •