Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [Solved] Mouse won't work

Beans

[Solved] Mouse won't work

Hello. I'm new to Ubuntu, but when I tried to load it off a USB drive, my trackpad won't work, nor will the buttons. I've tried to look it up, but nothing has worked so far. If I need to get into a folder, it has to be accessible from the terminal, since I don't have access to an external mouse. Any and all help is appreciated.
    Last edited by the.z.cuber; January 2nd, 2014 at 07:06 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Mouse won't work

Welcome to the forums the.z.cuber !

Please try what has been suggested in this post http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...8#post12880188

Of course replace the "PS/2 Elantech Touchpad" part with whatever name your trackpad comes up with in the output of "xinput", if the first two command sets don't work and you need to try the "xinput float..." commands.
    Last edited by varunendra; December 30th, 2013 at 06:04 AM. Reason: corrected URL
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

Beans

My mouse is PS/2 Synaptics TouchPad. I tried the first, which did not work. Adding proto worked, but only for about a second. The last did nothing as well.

Beans
    Distro

Please open 3 terminals at the same time, one will be for entering commands, other two will be for monitoring the effects.

In one terminal, enter -
    Code:
    tail -f /var/log/Xorg.0.log > Desktop/Xorg.txt
    In the other one -
    Code:
    tail -f /var/log/syslog > Desktop syslog.txt
    These will keep monitoring the Xorg.0.log and syslog files for any new messages and redirect their outputs to Xorg.txt and syslog.txt files on your desktop. Keep these running.