Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do I change the default library path(s)?

Beans

How do I change the default library path(s)?

Hi All,

I am completely new to ubuntu so please be patient with me :P :) I recently installed ubuntu 13.01 on my Dell Inspirion laptop alongside the already installed Windows 8.1. Both 64bit.

I made a separate partition on my hard drive called "Shared" for all my movies, music etc. so that I can easily access them from both OS's. In windows this drive shows up as "Shared(A:)". I managed to change the library path in windows so that when I click on the "Music" library icon it goes to A:\Music and the same for Documents etc. How do I do the same thing in ubuntu? If I right click on the Shared drive in ubuntu and select properties is says "Location: media/myname". This would indicate that I need to change the path of the Music library, for example, to media/myname/Shared. The current location of the Music library is "home/myname". How do I change it?

I tried clicking Files>Bookmarks in the Files title bar. This brought up a "Bookmarks" window where I could edit the names and locations of Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos and Downloads. Surely this is exactly what I'm looking for? However I tried it with Music first and typed in /media/myname/Shared/Music where it currently said /home/myname/Music but all it did was create a new bookmark that never existed before under the heading Bookmarks in the navigation pane on the left. Is my computer malfunctioning or is this supposed to happen? When I click on this new bookmark it goes to the correct location but I haven't changed the destination location of the system library which is what I want to do.

Any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by wpbdry; December 17th, 2013 at 11:40 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Re: How do I change the default library path(s)?

hi wpbdry,

welcome to the world of linux.