Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Dual boot with Win 7

Beans

Dual boot with Win 7

Hello there and thanks for viewing my thread. So I got everything ready to install Ubuntu (first time) alongside with Windows 7. This is my first time dual booting o I just want to be sure I'm doing this right.

Everything was all fine and dandy until I got to the installation bit of Ubuntu.

Here's my Hard Drive layout as viewed through Windows 7 (see pic 1)

In one of my earlier threads, someone said to just install on unused space. When I'm choosing where to install Ubuntu, I just get this screen (see pic 2)

What should I do? Will installing it to that partition erase files?

Thanks in advance
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Remember2Wipe; December 5th, 2013 at 05:39 AM.

Beans

Re: Help with installing Ubuntu to free space on Hard Drive (dual boot Win 7)

Are you sure they are the same disk? The windows disk has 22G free, and is 596G total, while sda is 640G with no partitions at all.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Dual boot with Win 7

Boot with Ubuntu and 'Try Ubuntu without installing', open Terminal [Ctrl+Alt+T], run the following command and post its output here:

Code:
    sudo parted -l
    sudo fdisk -l
    Another thing, was this HDD ever part of a RAID Setup? Get into your BIOS and check what mode is SATA set to....
    "Evolution is Nature's way of issuing upgrades."

Beans

Also check for an option "Dynamic Disks" under Windows and turn it off if present.

Beans

Trying this first.

Following this guide. Where it says to click "Convert Dynamic Disk to Basic Disk" is greyed out when using the partition wizard. Does this mean it isn't a dynamic disk?
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...asic-disk.html
    Last edited by Remember2Wipe; December 5th, 2013 at 10:42 PM.

Beans

Did first thing. A bit confused since it says some apple and mac stuff on there. Never had OS X installed