Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to install a script

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

how to install a script

I need to add this script to Scribus, however, I have never worked with scripts before. It seems as though it ought to be a simple matter of copying, pasting, and saving to /usr/share/scribus/scripts, but I notice all the files there are .py or .pyc files. I shouldn't think I would need a full blown course in Python to add someone else's script, but before I do something stupid, would someone please tell me how to do this?
    "Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects." Will Rogers

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie Development Release

Re: how to install a script

I'm not familiar with Scribus , but the scripts I have used required making the text file executable from the the text file's proprieties. Right Click > Properties > Permissions > Execute.
    "Our intention creates our reality. "

Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Flavors

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by Frogs Hair View Post
    I'm not familiar with Scribus , but the scripts I have used required making the text file executable from the the text file's proprieties. Right Click > Properties > Permissions > Execute.
    Thanks Frogs Hair. Putting your reply into my own words, I copy and paste the script to a text file (and save as a ? file), then make the file executable. I'll see what happens

UPDATE: I can't save it to /usr/share/scribus/scripts. I get

Code:
    Can't open file to write.
    Nor is there an option to execute in permissions.
    Last edited by Buntu Bunny; November 23rd, 2013 at 04:57 PM.

Beans
    Distro

Use gedit to create the text file.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 18.04 Bionic Beaver

You can also make it executable in the terminal by
    Code:
    chmod u+x scriptname