Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unable to install any OS in any virtual machine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    244
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Unable to install any OS in any virtual machine

    I am running Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 64-bit on a Dell Laptop with an Intel Core Duo and 2 gigs of RAM.

    I have a rather odd issue where I cannot install any guest OS on my system. I am booting from an ISO and usually I get to a where I have the option to select "install." After I select the install option, the virtual machine usually freezes at a black screen. No CD drive, HDD, or CPU activity at all, just a black screen.

    Here is the interesting part. I have tried two different versions of VirtualBox (version 4 and the version before that one) and I have also tried using QEMU. The same exact thing happens in both.

    I have tried installing 64-bit and 32-bit versions of CentOS, as well as 32-bit versions of Fedora and Ubuntu Server. All display the same exact issue.

    At one point, I was about to boot to the Live Desktop of CentOS, which took forever to come up and ran very slowly, and then ran the graphical install. it errored out at the very end. I apologize for not jotting down the error but suffice to say, the install was unsuccessful.

    In all these cases, I have given 1 gig of RAM and 20 GB of HDD to each guest OS.

    Before I did a fresh install of Ubuntu GNOME on my host machine, I was running Ubuntu 13.04 with GNOME Shell and was not having any issues with Virtualization.

    I have been using Virtual Machines since before it was cool and I have never ran accross an issue quite like this. I hope someone has some ideas.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    11,887
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Unable to install any OS in any virtual machine

    If you're installing an Ubuntu guest, try hitting F6 at the initial menu screen and picking nomodeset. That can help resolve some display issues.
    If you ask for help, please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    244
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Unable to install any OS in any virtual machine

    Quote Originally Posted by SeijiSensei View Post
    If you're installing an Ubuntu guest, try hitting F6 at the initial menu screen and picking nomodeset. That can help resolve some display issues.
    My preference would be to install CentOS for what I am trying to do. I wonder why this is happening with Multiple OSes on two different virtualization platforms.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    244
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Unable to install any OS in any virtual machine

    It turns out that the issue is not what I originally thought. I was able to actually get CentOS installed. It just runs EXTREMELY slow. I think I might open a new thread for that issue if need be.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    11,887
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Unable to install any OS in any virtual machine

    A Core Duo with just 2 GB of memory is pretty underpowered for running virtual machines. More memory might help, but the processor is still going to have to work hard to run VMs.

    Out of curiosity, what do you see in terms of memory, load average, and swap usage if you run "top" on the host (not the guest)?
    If you ask for help, please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  6. #6
    ibjsb4 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    5,003

    Re: Unable to install any OS in any virtual machine

    I have vBox set up on a core2duo w/2G ram and find its enough to run my bare bone systems, but a full blown desktop is just asking for too much.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •