Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Unable to install ZFS (Ubuntu 13.10)

Beans

Exclamation Unable to install ZFS (Ubuntu 13.10)

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu and wanted to setup a server running ZFS/XBMC - Te XBMC install went fine, however I ran into trouble getting ZFS working.

Configuration : Ubuntu 13.10 (GNU/Linux 3.12.0-rc7+ x86_64)

I attempted to install ZFS native using :

• sudo add-apt-repository ppa:zfs-native/stable
    • sudo apt-get update
    • sudo apt-get install ubuntu-zfs

This failed to install due to "Module build for the currently running kernel was skipped since the kernel source for this kernel does not seem to be installed."

Trying sudo modprobe zfs - shows FATAL error : module not found.

Looking at ZFS package (zfs-ubuntu) does not create zfs module? - they mentioned it was to do with lacking build dependences- I followed the answer which was to "apt-get remove --purge ubuntu-zfs zfs-dkms zfsutils spl spl-dkms libzfs1 dkms Then, REBOOT. Then, do: apt-get install linux-headers-generic build-essential Then, do: apt-get install ubuntu-zfs "

This leaves me in the same situation with "Building only for 3.12.0-rc7+ Module build for the currently running kernel was skipped since the kernel source for this kernel does not seem to be installed." when trying to install ubuntu-zfs.

Trying apt-get install --reinstall zfs-dkms also does not work.

I'm sure I am missing something obvious - but if anyone could give me any help I would greatly appreciate it !
    Last edited by oli.washbrook; October 31st, 2013 at 09:51 PM. Reason: Mixing up ZSH with ZFS!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: Unable to install ZFS (Ubuntu 13.10)

linux-headers-generic may not be sufficient. To get your exact kernel, do:
    Code:
    uname -a
    This will return something like
    Code:
    Linux MyComputer 3.5.0-42-generic #65~precise1-Ubuntu SMP Wed Oct 30 20:57:18 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux