Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: HDD Problem with Linux Desktop 13.10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    3

    HDD Problem with Linux Desktop 13.10

    Hey guys, I've only just installed Linux 13.10 today, and I'm brand new to the OS. I keep getting a problem with my secondary HDD.

    The facts:
    128GB SSD Partition
    Windows on 60GB
    Linux on 30GB
    3GB spare for w/e.

    I then have a 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue dynamic HDD, partitioned into 3 main sections (but they're a bit split up due to a repartitioning issue)

    The 'Stuff' partition I can access from Linux, but the 'Games' and 'Spare' partitions give me this message every time I try and mount:

    Error mounting system-managed device /dev/sdb2: Command-line `mount "/mnt/622CFFFC2CFFC8D5"' exited with non-zero exit status 12: Failed to read last sector (590368767): Invalid argument
    HINTS: Either the volume is a RAID/LDM but it wasn't setup yet,
    or it was not setup correctly (e.g. by not using mdadm --build ...),
    or a wrong device is tried to be mounted,
    or the partition table is corrupt (partition is smaller than NTFS),
    or the NTFS boot sector is corrupt (NTFS size is not valid).
    Failed to mount '/dev/sdb2': Invalid argument
    The device '/dev/sdb2' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
    Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
    partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?
    Being a complete newbies, I have no idea what to do, can you help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    11,476
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: HDD Problem with Linux Desktop 13.10

    jamie_starr2; Hi !

    We can for sure help, but lets see what is going on,
    Post back the outputs of terminal codes - between code tags (#) ! :
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -lu
    sudo parted -l
    sudo parted /dev/sda unit s print
    sudo parted /dev/sdb unit s print
    cat /etc/fstab ##what and how you "want" auto mounted
    mount ##to show what is mounted
    cat /etc/mtab ##corroboration as to what the system has mounted and where.
    and was this hard disk ever a part of a raid array ? ,-> are these warnings due to the presence of "meta data" (a desk top install does not understand the server data headers)?

    We will see what there is to work with, and then can see what can be done.

    ain't nothing but a thing
    THE current(cy) in Documentation:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PopularPages

    Happy ubuntu'n !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    S.H.I.E.L.D. 6-1-6
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HDD Problem with Linux Desktop 13.10

    Quote Originally Posted by jamie_starr2 View Post
    Hey guys, I've only just installed Linux 13.10 today, and I'm brand new to the OS. I keep getting a problem with my secondary HDD.

    The facts:
    128GB SSD Partition
    Windows on 60GB
    Linux on 30GB
    3GB spare for w/e.

    I then have a 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue dynamic HDD, partitioned into 3 main sections (but they're a bit split up due to a repartitioning issue)

    The 'Stuff' partition I can access from Linux, but the 'Games' and 'Spare' partitions give me this message every time I try and mount:

    Error mounting system-managed device /dev/sdb2: Command-line `mount "/mnt/622CFFFC2CFFC8D5"' exited with non-zero exit status 12: Failed to read last sector (590368767): Invalid argument
    HINTS: Either the volume is a RAID/LDM but it wasn't setup yet,
    or it was not setup correctly (e.g. by not using mdadm --build ...),
    or a wrong device is tried to be mounted,
    or the partition table is corrupt (partition is smaller than NTFS),
    or the NTFS boot sector is corrupt (NTFS size is not valid).
    Failed to mount '/dev/sdb2': Invalid argument
    The device '/dev/sdb2' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
    Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
    partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?
    Being a complete newbies, I have no idea what to do, can you help?
    If its a dynamic disk, it wont work in Linux - backup and convert it back into a basic disk and it will work.
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HDD Problem with Linux Desktop 13.10

    If this is a laptop and came with both SSD and HDD with a pre-installed Windows8 then the chances are you have Intel SRT. Intel SRT uses RAID. You have to disable IntelSRT.

    EDIT: Post a screenshot of your partitions from Windows Disk Management. If you have any 'Dynamic Disks' then they would show only with Windows's tools.
    Last edited by fantab; October 30th, 2013 at 05:33 AM.
    "Evolution is Nature's way of issuing upgrades."


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •