Thread: What can be deleted from /var/? Any other privacy related things to delete?

Beans

Question What can be deleted from /var/? Any other privacy related things to delete?

Im running a Lubuntu 13.04. I didnt get a good result from Google. I know that /var/log/ content can be deleted without any hassle and infact you might want to do that for privacy reasons. But what other stuff inside this /var/ directory can be deleted safely? By safely I mean that it doesnt crash my Lubuntu or cause any important settings to be erased etc. I dont care about loosing some debug info or something like that.

What other directories and files there are that you can safely delete for privacy reasons?

Im pretty new to Linux, so sorry for asking this kind of stupid question. I would know instantly what stuff to erase under Windows and there are also plenty of good programs for that in Windows. But on Linux, all I can see that do even some of that stuff is Bleachbit, but even that doesnt seem to do itse job perfectly. Ofcourse it would be perfect to get a program of some kind that would really erase (overwrite) everything that can be any privacy hassle, all logs and such...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: What can be deleted from /var/? Any other privacy related things to delete?

What privacy concerns do you have about logs? Do people you don't trust have access as the root user on your machine?

Quote Originally Posted by markus.jansson View Post
    I didnt get a good result from Google
    Stuff in /var/ has nothing to do with Google rankings.
    Unless your DocumentRoot is /var/log/ then there's little to worry about.

Please clarify this "result" you are referring to.
    Windows assumes the user is an idiot.
    Linux demands proof.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by buzzingrobot View Post
    What privacy concerns do you have about logs? Do people you don't trust have access as the root user on your machine?