Thread: openconnect VPN stopped working after 13.10 upgrade

Beans

openconnect VPN stopped working after 13.10 upgrade

Has anyone seen this? I have an openconnect VPN configured, worked fine for months in 13.04. After updating to 13.10 this morning (2 different computers) I get "Authentication failed." on both machines. On one box, I removed then re-installed openconnect. That seemed to have no affect.

Anyone got any great ideas? I'm not a total noob, but frankly, I'm not a *nix expert either. Go with KISS theory for me and I'll be extra happy. Appreciate any help you might be able to provide.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: openconnect VPN stopped working after 13.10 upgrade

Yes, I experienced this as well. Two different computers. Both when I upgraded from 13.04 to 13.10 and when I did a clean install of 13.10. Openconnect worked great from Ubuntu (Xubuntu, actually) 10.10 through 13.04, and then stopped working for 13.10.

If you run it from the command line you can see a better error. I was getting an error about not being able to create a vpnc folder. I created that folder, then I got a permission error about not being able to write to it (I'm not at my computer right now - sorry for not having the exact messages). If you run openconnect from the command line using sudo, it does work. I've tried adding my regular user to the vpn group, that didn't help.