Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to load kernel with grub2

Beans

how to load kernel with grub2

Just installed Lubuntu 12.10 alternate install on an old PC (Celeron, 318MB RAM), and after the install all I get is a CLI with a "grub> "
    How do I load a kernel?
    (I'm a newbie, if you cannot tell..

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: how to load kernel with grub2

What choices does Grub offer you?
    In working with *nix...There be dragons. Newcomers: I recommend reading Linux is Not Windows (http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm) and The Linux Command Line (http://www.linuxcommand.org/tlcl.php) before beginning your quest for a better OS.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Welcome to the forums and Lubuntu!

You are stuck at the grub bootloader. Because you did not get a black screen, chances are this is not a video driver issue but a kernel issue. Please describe your system just a little more... some Celerons are 32-bit and some are 64-bit. Do you know which yours is? If not, Google make/model of old PC. The CPU speed is also an indicator of the model of Celeron. What MHz does it run at?

Did you install 32-bit Lubuntu or 64-bit? It is also possible that your install disk is corrupted. Did you download it using torrent or one of the mirror sites?

318 MB RAM is severely limiting. The only 'buntu distro that it will run at all would be Lubuntu. You may actually have better luck running another distro altogether like Puppy, CrunchBang or SliTaz.

Did you try running Lubuntu as a LiveDVD before installing it? If not, please try to do so now. If it cannot run as a LiveDVD, then it won't run when installed either and we would need to do some detective work to make it work.

Please answer all above questions and we can see where to go from there.

Beans

No GUI. just the grub> cursor

Beans