Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best distro for my laptop.

Beans

Best distro for my laptop.

Hello, I'm totally new to Linux and want to try it out on my laptop. I have only ever used Windows as an OS. I mainly use my laptop for school work and browsing the net, no gaming or other entertainment really. So I'm wondering what would be a fitting distro to try out. I hear Ubuntu is really easy to use and a lot like Windows but has a bit too much bloatware. I learn things pretty quickly so it doesn't really matter to me if its not like Windows. After all I'm looking to try out something new.

Anyway, here are my laptop's specs:
    i3 370m
    6GB DDR3 RA
    640GB HDD

It's a cheap Acer Aspire 4739.

Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Best distro for my laptop.

Ubuntu

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

If you have much time, try all the distros.
    If not, try ubuntu or mint.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.04 Zesty Zapus

Kubuntu uses KDE, which is somewhat more similar in appearance to Windows. I don't know why people keep talking about "bloatware". Compared to Windows, all the Linux distributions are pretty minimalist when it comes to non-useful software.

You can't go wrong with any or all of the Ubuntu family. As jeehyun said, try them all -- and Fedora and some of the other distros too. They're free, so you've got nothing to lose by exploring them.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

The best part is that if you download a "Live" distribution you can boot it up from CD or USB memory stick/card and try it out without installing it.
    If you go here http://releases.ubuntu.com/precise/ and scroll down the page you will find various download options.
    If your processor is 64 bit (which it probably is) select the "amd64" version.
    The ones called "Desktop" are the "Live" versions.
    I usually get the BitTorrent one, it is fast and takes about 25-30 minutes to download. You need a BitTorrent client for this option. YMMV