Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why Should I Use Ubuntu?

Beans

Why Should I Use Ubuntu?

Ok, this is a legitimate question I'm asking, hopefully to help me get a better insight into Ubuntu and how it can help me. Obviously, I'm brand new to the software, and have spent most of my life using Windows or Mac, so using this program comes kind of as a shock to me and my habits.

My major question is why should I continue using this (relatively) complicated software? The main reasons I'm supporting it is because I like the idea of free software to the masses. Besides that though, I don't find much pleasure in it, besides kind of feeling like a wannabe hacker when I have to manually type in commands. I'm finding Ubuntu to be incredibly difficult, not user friendly at all, and its forcing me to spend precious time learning how to do basic things...like create shortcuts on my desktop. I'm trying to convince myself that its worth it, but I'm losing reasons why. After all, I can easily jump on a much more user friendly OS, and pirate software that is much more advanced and less restrictive than a lot of the free software offered here. Same price tag, less headaches. I don't really find manually doing things that another OS can do automatically to be really liberating, but I feel as if I'm missing something here that others are seeing.

Whats your guys take on this topic? Help shed some light on my ignorance...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Why Should I Use Ubuntu?

Use it because you want to if you aren't required to use it.

Being relatively new to the *NIX world, I find Ubuntu as straight-forward as Windows and Mac OSX. I actually had a harder time migrating from Windows to Mac OSX than from Windows to Ubuntu. I suppose it's just how well you adapt to the changes of the system, and a lot of it is going to be personal preference.