Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu on Laptop Toshiba Satellite P75-A7200 i7-4700MQ HD4600

Beans

Ubuntu on Laptop Toshiba Satellite P75-A7200 i7-4700MQ HD4600

Hi

First, I am new on the forums, but I have been using Linux for about 2 years now in my desktop computer.

I just bought a Laptop. Toshiba satellite P75-A7200.
    Proc: i7-4700MQ
    Video: HD4600
    RAM 8GB
    It has Windows 8 preinstalled

For what I have read, the processor and video architecture are rather new. I have not found any other thread that is having this issue:

I want to have dual boot on this computer, but before installing, I wanted to test using the LiveCD.
    I followed the instructions to disable fast boot and Windows 8 fast boot feature from here:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI

However, when I tried to boot from the LiveCD I got a black screen after selecting the option to try ubuntu or install ubuntu.
    After reading the forums I found and used the option "nomodeset", which allowed the boot process complete and get to a command prompt session, but the gui is not working.
    If I use startx, it fails. The log says that screens were found, but non is usable.

I would like to see that the livecd can work with the laptop before installing.
    If you tell me how to, I can gladly post the XServer log here.

Any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks

Beans

Re: Ubuntu on Laptop Toshiba Satellite P75-A7200 i7-4700MQ HD4600

Sorry, I forgot to mention that I am using Ubuntu 13.04 LiveCD 64

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

I had somewhat the same problem with an Intel HD4000 + NVidia GT650M combo (and Kubuntu 13.04). I also got a black screen. For me the solution was to just increase the screen brightness using <Fn> + <Arrow right>. You might have a similar keyboard combination for setting the brightness. You could try that?

Beans

Hi DeathByDenim