View Poll Results: Was this guide usefull to you?

Voters
82. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    73 89.02%
  • No

    9 10.98%
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 79

Thread: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cupertino, CA
    Beans
    5,092
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    I have no idea if system-config-lvm will work with Edgy's LVM setup.
    Quote Originally Posted by tuxradar
    Linux's audio architecture is more like the layers of the Earth's crust than the network model, with lower levels occasionally erupting on to the surface, causing confusion and distress, and upper layers moving to displace the underlying technology that was originally hidden

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    It is working for me. But I do have that problem with the snapshot. I think I read somewhere that it might be a problem with the LVM2. Who knows...

    Evangelos

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    111
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    dude crazymonkey

    "I love you man!"

    This is something I've wanted to do ever since I first saw system-config-lvm on a centos machine.

    -Thanks!

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    Nice How-to

    This thread has been added to the UDSF wiki.

    LVM_gui
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Beans
    268

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    first off thanks for the howto, it seems to have installed just fine. I say seems because all 3 of my drives show up but are uninitalized. My 80gig main drive in gparted shows:

    /dev/hda1 73.44 gig ext3 /boot
    /dev/hda2 2.89 gig extended lba
    /dev/hda5 2.89 gig unknown

    my 20gig winxp ntfs drive I assumed would be uninitialized.

    and my 160 gig future main drive is currently just one big ext3 partition.

    I've always assumed Ubuntu defaulted to lvm on install, but if I was currrently using lvm wouldn't my main drive be initialized already. I guess I am starting to question whether my drive appears setup for lvm or classic partition, but I don't see the classic partitions like swap, home, etc. If i'm using lvm, do I need to initialize the drive to have the system-config-gui see it and adjust/edit.
    AMD 64 3000+, 2G RAM, ASUS K8N , XFX GS7800, Linux Mint 9 , WinXP(dual boot/seperate HD)

    Stalker's Law: As an online discussion grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving how much the United States sucks approaches one.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Beans
    268

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    I think I have my answer:

    thomas@tihome2:~$ di
    Filesystem Mount Megs Used Avail %Used fs Type
    /dev/hda1 / 74021.8 26955.6 43306.1 41% ext3
    udev /dev 10.0 0.2 9.8 2% tmpfs
    devshm /dev/shm 505.7 0.0 505.7 0% tmpfs
    lrm /lib/modules/2. 505.7 17.7 488.0 4% tmpfs
    procbususb /proc/bus/usb 10.0 0.2 9.8 2% usbfs
    varlock /var/lock 505.7 0.0 505.7 0% tmpfs
    varrun /var/run 505.7 0.1 505.6 0% tmpfs
    thomas@tihome2:~$

    from what I've read, under file system type if any lvm volume were created they would be listed as such.
    AMD 64 3000+, 2G RAM, ASUS K8N , XFX GS7800, Linux Mint 9 , WinXP(dual boot/seperate HD)

    Stalker's Law: As an online discussion grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving how much the United States sucks approaches one.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    The default installation doesnt use LVM, you have to use the alternate CD to use LVM and select format all drive using LVM when asked to partition. Take note that you can still use LVM on new drives even if you didnt install ubuntu on LVM.

    Also take note that i have noticed that sometime system-config-lvm can detect a drive that is actually using LVM as an unitialized entity so always double check in your volume groups before initializing a drive.

    You lvm drives will always show up in /dev as /dev/nameofvolumegroup/nameoflogicalvolume
    So if you installed using LVM your root logical volume would be /dev/Ubuntu/root
    Ubuntu being the VG and root the LV

    I hope this helps clear things up.
    Registered Ubuntu user #8233

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    110
    Distro
    Kubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    how can i create a snapshot of my root partition?

    i get this error so, i take it i need to free up sum extents... (ill try use the gui...)

    dimitri@OuZo:~$ sudo lvcreate -L592M -s -n rootBackup /dev/ursus250/lvRoot
    Incorrect metadata area header checksum
    Insufficient free extents (0) in volume group ursus250: 148 required
    the best things in life are free

  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    110
    Distro
    Kubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    ok i freed up a gig & it worked...

    dimitri@OuZo:~$ sudo lvcreate -L592M -s -n rootBackup /dev/ursus250/lvRoot
    Incorrect metadata area header checksum
    Logical volume "rootBackup" created

    i restarted the gui & found the rootBackup... but how would i restore it?

    thanks >>> this is a great how-to
    the best things in life are free

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    110
    Distro
    Kubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: HOWTO : LVM gui (Not EVMS)

    i freed up 10G to use for snapshots

    dimitri@OuZo:~$ sudo lvcreate -L10G -s -n rootBackup /dev/ursus250/lvRoot
    Incorrect metadata area header checksum
    Logical volume "rootBackup" created

    but is there a way to create the snapshot with out specifying the size, shot that it just determines what has changed in root & then makes a snapshot the size of the change?
    the best things in life are free

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •