Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: trying To install a game - Error message appearing. Please help

Beans

Question trying To install a game - Error message appearing. Please help

Hi all, So i have family who use linux and after being moaned at to get on board i decided i would give it a go, Got a brand new laptop and installed Ubuntu on it yesterday so i know it's the most up to date version.
    I already have wine etc downloaded so i can open .exe files etc, However when i try to download any games i have on hard disk i am having trouble. I have already googled how to install "xxx" game on ubuntu but get so many varied resuts im really not sure where to begin.

I am brand new to ubuntu so i really dont quite have a technical grasp on the whole system yet so i would appreciate some simple answers.(even though i know they can only be so simple)
    Im not looking for anyone to hold my hand type thing through the process, Just looking for some decent pointers. To start with i keep getting seperate errors for different games so i shall stick with one at a time and hopefully somebody can help me. Here goes.

So i am trying to install command and conquer the first decade. When i put the disk in i go to the DVD sig at the side of the page and click The autorun.exe file ,I get the install window up (looks good so far) I select run in wine and recieve this message shortly after the installshield wizard loads up " an error -5006 : 0x8000ffff has occured while running the setup, Please make sure you have closed any other applications and this is the only set up running, If the error still persists please contact ea. Now i can select detail and when i do i get this
    " >kernel.serviceprovider/cpp(109)"
    and then a whole list of othe "kernel errors, sorry i would list them but it isn't letting me copy and paste and there must beover 100 there.