Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: internet connection problems after fresh install of Ubuntu 12.04 LTS

internet connection problems after fresh install of Ubuntu 12.04 LTS

Hello:

Completely new to Linux, but I am trying my best. I apologize if I add more information than is needed, as I am still figuring out how to troubleshoot.

Hardware:
    VGA ASUS HD 7770-2GD5 2Gb Ram
    8Gbx2-GSkill F3-1866c10D-16Gb Ram
    128 GB Samsung SSD
    HDD 3Tb Toshiba DT01ACA300
    CPU-AMD-8Core-FX-8320-3.5G-8M-R
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
    Asus PCE-N10 Wireless-N Network Adapter (150 Mbs Transmit/Recieve) PCI-E interface-WPS
    ASUS Vs228-H-P 22-Inch Full-HD 2ms LED-Lit LCD Monitor

System: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on entire SSD.

This is my first build, and I first dual installed Windows 8 and then ubuntu 12.04. Both worked fine, with no issues that I could find. But I hated Windows, so I decided to use a Linux only distro. I tried for many days to install Debian (over the other OS's and not next to them), but it was to complex, and I couldn't handle the amount of problems I was having. So, I decided to do a fresh install of the entire SSD. Ubuntu installed correctly (from bootable usb) but could not connect to the Internet to install the rest of the packages, drivers, firmware, etc. My wireless N-adapter shows my networks, but when I give it the correct password for my network it connects for about 15 seconds and then kicks me off. It also will not connect to an Ethernet cable. I cannot use my usb ports, I cannot use my mouse. I can navigate to a terminal with my wired keyboard, and navigate the folders/files. I tried: sudo apt-get update and other update commands, but without Internet there is nothing I can do. Help please.

Beans

Re: internet connection problems after fresh install of Ubuntu 12.04 LTS

How about plug your wireless adapter out and plug it back again?