Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to repartition and/or reinstall Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    64

    How to repartition and/or reinstall Ubuntu

    Hi,
    I want to creat a dual boot system on my desktop computer with Dell XPS. The hard drive is 1.5TB. I have installed OPENSUSE successfully. When I install Ubuntu, I incorrectly select "install along side i586 OPENSUSE". In this mode, I cannot control the hard disk partion. The total 163 GB was given to all Ubuntu. I would like to have the Ubuntu having separate partitioin for the root folder, home folder, usr local folder. Could you tell me the procedures to do this? Especially what to do with GRUB2, which is now correct to select OPENSUSE and Ubuntu.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 17.04 Zesty Zapus

    Re: How to repartition and/or reinstall Ubuntu

    You need to choose manual installation (I think it's called "Something else"). See #4 here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Oblivion
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: How to repartition and/or reinstall Ubuntu

    Yep, choose 'Something Else' at the partitioning section of the install.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    64

    Re: How to repartition and/or reinstall Ubuntu

    Thanks. I now know that I have to use manual install. My question is I concern the reinstall Ubuntu may ruin the present OPENSUSE in the dual boot GRUB2. Are there something I should be care about? I can simply reinstall Ubuntu by delete the present Ubuntu partition and install manually?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Oblivion
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: How to repartition and/or reinstall Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by ruwan2 View Post
    I can simply reinstall Ubuntu by delete the present Ubuntu partition and install manually?
    Yes. As for not deleting the OpeSuse install, it will be clearly visible when you get to the partitioning section. Those partitions will be shown as used and have a mount point name and other details. Just don't touch them; make sure they are set to 'Don't use' and not ticked to format. Then all good.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •