Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: is there autofix tool ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    124

    is there autofix tool ?

    is there a tool that search and autofix the problems on ubuntu ?

  2. #2
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: is there autofix tool ?

    the usuals: clean/autoclean/autoremove/gtkorphan/bleachbit
    the update/upgrade ones : apt-get -f install, dpkg --configure -a, dpkg-reconfigure -phigh -a
    special tools : checkbox, checksecurity, fwts, lintian

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Al Ain
    Beans
    8,690

    Re: is there autofix tool ?

    Hmm, why do you think that you have problems that need fixing?

    You need to be a leeeetle more specific.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Oblivion
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: is there autofix tool ?

    Please do not post duplicates. Your duplicate has been deleted.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Beans
    1,557
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: is there autofix tool ?

    You mean TuneUp-like optimization tools? There is none in Ubuntu. Even in Windows I don't trust those tools since they tend to
    1. Emphasize the problems your computer has, usually ones that does not affect the system visibly
    2. Fix only really minor errors, ones you can easily do yourself, and is incapable of fixing really major problems, and
    3. Cost a ****ton of money.

    The closest program that came close is BleachBit, which cleans out unnecessary junk files that clog up your hard drive (think CCleaner), but otherwise does not provide performance boost or anything. Ubuntu is pretty optimized by itself.

    If you have any specific problems with Ubuntu, do tell.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Courtenay, BC, Canada
    Beans
    1,661

    Re: is there autofix tool ?

    you forgot
    4. create problems with no clear explanation of how to fix them

    the best way to fix problems is to provide as much detail as possible and be directed to the right tools and instructions

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    124

    Re: is there autofix tool ?

    sorry for duplicate , i think it browser error . it stop loading after i press post so i tried many times .

    i upgraded from ubuntu 11.10 to 12.04 . the Software Resources icon gnome from the setting menu and from application too . still able to access it throw update manager setting .
    also the startup programs icon gone and i am able to access it throw terminal

    how to fix these problems and how to discover it there are more problems like that

    ty

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •