Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 159

Thread: Wirless works, wired does not

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    whoa !...needle nose pliers is a bad thing,shorting the cmos
    would not be good. anyway, depending on how new your computer
    "some" dells allow BIOS reset by holding down the "F10" key...i think.
    do a restart..or boot,,hold down the F2 key when it's booting up...that
    should bring up the BIOS settings. you may have to do it a couple times
    to get into bios...once there..it "should" say what key combo resets the
    bios. my dell laptop is a 2005...it does not have that function..google yours
    and see if it has the "F10" bios reset ability. On the cmos battery, use a tooth
    pick..insulated..pry up then slide out from the U shaped battery holder.
    good luck !
    Craving anchovy, herring and squid pizza.....with clam sauce

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    262

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    So, I'm guessing using vise-grips when the needle-noses pliers didn't work may be worse
    At any rate, the computer is back together and it still works.
    One thing I probably should have mentioned, when I boot the laptop, in the top left corner of the screen, I get the words:

    xxxxxx kvm disabled by bios

    I use the x's because this number changes with each boot...I don't know if that helps any.

    I'll try the boot instructions you write of and report back. Thanks

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    262

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    I did several F keys while booting, and they got me to the boot menu, but I never found anything that allows me to reset bios. I think we may have to realize the only way this computer will hookup with a wire is to simply go directly to the modem.
    I do have the "Boot Repair" disk, if that is of any use.
    Thanks

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,149
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    Quote Originally Posted by GUZZLR View Post
    I did several F keys while booting, and they got me to the boot menu, but I never found anything that allows me to reset bios.
    All the BIOS menus I remember include an "Exit" tab in the last. Here, besides a couple of "exit" options, there are settings to "Load defaults" or "Load Optimized Defaults". This is similar to "Reset to Factory Settings". If your BIOS has this menu item (or similar), try it.

    A few more things to experiment -

    • When you are directly connected to the modem via cable, please run ifconfig and post back its output -

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    • While being connected via router again, boot your laptop with Ubuntu Live CD/USB (that you installed from) or the Boot-Repair CD you have (close the boot-repair program and use it as a regular live OS). Can it connect via cable?


    If yes, post back the output of ifconfig from it.

    If not, can it connect when directly hooked to the modem?

    Also, if you are comfortable with it, save a backup of your router settings (refer to topic "10.3 Backup/Restore", page 51 of the manual you linked to), then do a factory reset of the router and reconfigure it - only the most basic settings that are absolutely necessary to start the network. Then see if it can break the ice between the router and the ethernet. If anything goes wrong, you may just restore the settings from the backup file you saved.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    262

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    Code:
    charles@Raspberry:~$ sudo ifconfig -a
    [sudo] password for charles: 
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1c:23:38:fc:08  
              inet addr:66.94.205.167  Bcast:66.94.205.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::21c:23ff:fe38:fc08/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:2312 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:2044 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:2669081 (2.6 MB)  TX bytes:288405 (288.4 KB)
              Interrupt:17 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
              RX packets:583 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:583 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:70774 (70.7 KB)  TX bytes:70774 (70.7 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1f:3a:31:08:3a  
              inet6 addr: fe80::21f:3aff:fe31:83a/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:108 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:188 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:45249 (45.2 KB)  TX bytes:32748 (32.7 KB)
    This is with the computer hooked directly to the modem. I'll post back with it hooked to the router in a moment

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    262

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    Code:
       
    
     Running on the Live CD:
     This is Wired Connection to the router, no connectivity using the router
     
    
     ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo ifconfig -a  
     eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1c:23:38:fc:08   
               UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1  
               RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0  
               TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0  
               collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000  
               RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  
               Interrupt:17  
     
    
     lo        Link encap:Local Loopback   
               inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0  
               inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host  
               UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1  
               RX packets:189 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0  
               TX packets:189 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0  
               collisions:0 txqueuelen:0  
               RX bytes:16176 (16.1 KB)  TX bytes:16176 (16.1 KB)  
     
    
     
    
     This is wired connection directly to the modem, with out the router.  I do get connectivity
     
    
     ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo ifconfig -a
     eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1c:23:38:fc:08   
               inet addr:66.94.204.248  Bcast:66.94.204.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
               inet6 addr: fe80::21c:23ff:fe38:fc08/64 Scope:Link
               UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
               RX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
               TX packets:88 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
               collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000  
               RX bytes:5058 (5.0 KB)  TX bytes:14349 (14.3 KB)
               Interrupt:17  
     
    
     lo        Link encap:Local Loopback   
               inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
               inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
               UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
               RX packets:349 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
               TX packets:349 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
               collisions:0 txqueuelen:0  
               RX bytes:29553 (29.5 KB)  TX bytes:29553 (29.5 KB)
    So here are the two ifconfig's while using the live CD. Basically the same thing...I can connect while using the modem directly, can not connect using the router. I have reset the router too, and still can not connect...Thanks for the help

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,149
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    Quote Originally Posted by GUZZLR View Post
    Code:
    charles@Raspberry:~$ sudo ifconfig -a
    [sudo] password for charles: 
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1c:23:38:fc:08  
              inet addr:66.94.205.167  Bcast:66.94.205.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::21c:23ff:fe38:fc08/64 Scope:Link
    This is with the computer hooked directly to the modem. I'll post back with it hooked to the router in a moment
    Hmm.. makes sense, looks like we are reaching somewhere.

    Now since you are able to connect the chromebook to the same router, could you please post the same ifconfig output from it? While being connected via ethernet of course.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    262

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    Code:
    user@ChrUbuntu:~$ sudo ifconfig -a
    [sudo] password for user: 
    eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr b8:88:e3:d2:b4:15  
              inet addr:192.168.8.102  Bcast:192.168.8.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::ba88:e3ff:fed2:b415/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:1293 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:999 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:1489051 (1.4 MB)  TX bytes:128477 (128.4 KB)
              Interrupt:18 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:374 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:374 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:41935 (41.9 KB)  TX bytes:41935 (41.9 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 20:68:9d:b7:9c:4a  
              inet6 addr: fe80::2268:9dff:feb7:9c4a/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:100 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:158 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:50863 (50.8 KB)  TX bytes:30848 (30.8 KB)
    
    user@ChrUbuntu:~$
    Here is what I got. This is from the Chromebook, connected to the router, wireless off, ethernet cable connected and working
    Also, the Chromebook is running 12.10, while the Dell is on 13.04...Thanks
    Last edited by GUZZLR; May 26th, 2013 at 01:32 AM.

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    262

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    Oh...you're right, I think I see a difference between the two on inet addr?

  10. #60
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Wirless works, wired does not

    Hi, see if this will get rid of cyour kvm message
    Code:
    sudo apt-get purge qemu-kvm
    boot and see if it went away.
    thanks.
    Craving anchovy, herring and squid pizza.....with clam sauce

Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •