Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Server won't let traffic in

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    40

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    I called the ISP and they said they don't block any ports

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    6,262
    Distro
    Xubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    oscar080483.no-ip.biz resolves to 192.168.1.2 which is a reserved address, not reachable over the internet.
    First, you need to change the DNS entry to give your publicly visible address, not your private internal address. You probably have to configure your router to make the dyndns entries as your server doesn't even know your public address.

    Beyond that, please answer the questions we have posted.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    40

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    hmm that's weird 192.168.1.2 is what linksys told me to use they said to use anything from .2 and below .100 my IP before .2 was .109

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    40

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    I called my ISP yesterday and they told me to call linksys and they said to use that. are you suggesting I go back to .109?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    Quote Originally Posted by OR83 View Post
    hmm that's weird 192.168.1.2 is what linksys told me to use they said to use anything from .2 and below .100 my IP before .2 was .109
    They told you to use that for your DNS information?

    You should have just let your router update no-ip.biz's information. It should use your external IP.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    6,262
    Distro
    Xubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    Quote Originally Posted by OR83 View Post
    I called my ISP yesterday and they told me to call linksys and they said to use that. are you suggesting I go back to .109?
    I don't understand that question.

    To explain, 192.168.1.* is a range of addresses for private network use. Your ISP will allocate a public address to your router when it connects, and the router performs translation between the two. Since the router translates all 192.168.1.* addresses to the single public address, incoming connections need a port-forwarding entry configured to tell the router which private address to forward the incoming call to.

    Once the DNS entry is giving the public address, you will not be able to connect to your server by name from inside your private network. This is because address translation doesn't allow for both addresses being on the same side of the router. You will need to test from a different public address on the internet.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    +1 to The Cog.

    Once you get the DNS entry sorted out, you should be good to go if your ISP isn't blocking ports.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    40

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    I'm going to have to reset everything then.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    Quote Originally Posted by OR83 View Post
    I'm going to have to reset everything then.
    Before you do, you might want to check to see if your router has an option to automatically update the DNS information at no-ip. On my current router (one by Thomson provided by my ISP) the relevant option is found on the Toolbox->Dynamic DNS menu item.
    Last edited by lisati; May 9th, 2013 at 12:13 AM.
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Please use CODE tags
    Including your email address in a post is not recommended
    My Blog

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    40

    Re: Server won't let traffic in

    it has it only for DynDNS and TZO not for no-ip. had my modem and router reset i got and ip of 192.168.1.100 on the server

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •