Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: switch user no longer works

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    84

    switch user no longer works

    Hi all. The "switch user" function seems to be totally hosed; I have no idea why. Googling brings no useful results so far. I don't know how to go about fixing this, partly because I don't know what the command line equivalent would be.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    2 days ago I removed approx:amd64 (5.3-1), then did apt-get autoremove which removed

    openbsd-inetd:amd64 (0.20091229-2ubuntu2).
    Then I ran Software Updater, which did the following:
    Code:
    Upgrade: jackd2-firewire:amd64 (1.9.8~dfsg.4+20120529git007cdc37-2ubuntu1, 1.9.8~dfsg.4+20120529git007cdc37-2ubuntu2), 
    nvidia-current:amd64 (304.51.really.304.43-0ubuntu1, 304.88-0ubuntu0.1), 
    libgl1-mesa-dri:amd64 (9.0.2-0ubuntu0.1, 9.0.3-0ubuntu0.1), 
    libgl1-mesa-glx:amd64 (9.0.2-0ubuntu0.1, 9.0.3-0ubuntu0.1), 
    libjack-jackd2-0:amd64 (1.9.8~dfsg.4+20120529git007cdc37-2ubuntu1, 1.9.8~dfsg.4+20120529git007cdc37-2ubuntu2), 
    libjack-jackd2-0:i386 (1.9.8~dfsg.4+20120529git007cdc37-2ubuntu1, 1.9.8~dfsg.4+20120529git007cdc37-2ubuntu2),
    libglapi-mesa:amd64 (9.0.2-0ubuntu0.1, 9.0.3-0ubuntu0.1), jackd2:amd64 (1.9.8~dfsg.4+20120529git007cdc37-2ubuntu1, 1.9.8~dfsg.4+20120529git007cdc37-2ubuntu2), 
    libcurl3:amd64 (7.27.0-1ubuntu1.1, 7.27.0-1ubuntu1.2), 
    libcurl3-nss:amd64 (7.27.0-1ubuntu1.1, 7.27.0-1ubuntu1.2), l
    ibxatracker1:amd64 (9.0.2-0ubuntu0.1, 9.0.3-0ubuntu0.1), curl:amd64 (7.27.0-1ubuntu1.1, 7.27.0-1ubuntu1.2), flashplugin-installer:amd64 (11.2.202.275ubuntu0.12.10.1, 11.2.202.280ubuntu0.12.10.1), 
    libcurl3-gnutls:amd64 (7.27.0-1ubuntu1.1, 7.27.0-1ubuntu1.2), 
    nvidia-settings:amd64 (304.51-0ubuntu2, 304.88-0ubuntu0.2)
    Then last night I clicked on "switch user" in the panel and started a guest session, which worked fine. I logged out of that, switching to my regular user, which also worked as per normal. But today "switch user" just doesn't do anything.

    I'm using ubuntu studio quantal, 64 bit. This is probably not ubuntu studio specific, it's just that that is I imagine very relevant (LightDM, xfce, etc) Thanks for any help.
    Last edited by youWho; April 20th, 2013 at 08:56 PM. Reason: Please use code tags

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    9,374
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: switch user no longer works

    Hi

    Please use code tags. It makes text copied and pasted from the terminal much easier to read. Code tags are the # button above where you write your text.

    Anyway, open a terminal and type

    Code:
    /usr/bin/dm-tool switch-to-greeter
    Code:
    /usr/bin/dm-tool switch-to-guest
    Code:
    /usr/bin/dm-tool switch-to-user <user_name>
    Do they fail and if they do, do you get any error messages.

    Kind regards
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

    Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    84

    Re: switch user no longer works

    First, thanks for your post. Second, I have in the past tried to use code tags but didn't know how. Sorry. I'll use that from now on.

    Re this:
    Oddly, when I just started up the computer just now I tried again the GUI way to switch users, and it worked. I had tried restarting earlier, before I posted, and I also had tried a perhaps irrelevant but anyway obvious thiing to try of deleting and then re-adding the "Action Buttons" item form the panel. Neither had worked. But now it's working, as per normal, and I have no explanation.

    I did try your command line versions, all 3 of them, and they worked and no error messages were returned.

    So I guess I should change this to "[SOLVED]", or should I?? I mean, it's working, but I have no idea why, and so it may have limited help value to anybody else. But I guess I should change it because at the very least your command line variations can be tried, if ever anybody has the same problem and reads the thread. Thanks again!
    Last edited by youWho; April 19th, 2013 at 07:21 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    9,374
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: switch user no longer works

    Hi

    I'm glad it's fixed.

    Sounds like your PC just had a funny 5 minutes. That happens.

    As for marking it as solved, i'll leave that up to you

    Kind regards
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

    Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    84

    Re: switch user no longer works

    I figured I should mark it "solved" since others looking for similar help might benefit from your suggestions. Thanks again. Ciao.
    Last edited by youWho; April 20th, 2013 at 08:46 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    84

    Re: switch user no longer works

    I may have spoken too soon: again the GUI for "switch user" isn't working...

    Trying all 3 of the above command line alternatives kindly recommended by matt_symes: in all 3 cases the result is that in the xfce terminal window the cursor moves to the next line, and that's all. No error messages, no switching of the user or any other effect. Basically it doesn't do anything. Damn.

    Aany ideas, anybody??? (Many thanks in advance.)
    Last edited by youWho; April 20th, 2013 at 08:58 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    9,374
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: switch user no longer works

    Hi

    Could you please post the output of

    Code:
    echo $XDG_SEAT_PATH
    and

    Code:
    lightdm --version
    After that please run this command in the terminal

    Code:
    /home/"$USER"/lightdm/lightdm-1.4.0/utils/gdmflexiserver
    Does that take you to the greater ?

    EDIT: Everything is CASE SENSITIVE so use capitals where i have and lower case where i have.

    Kind regards
    Last edited by matt_symes; April 20th, 2013 at 09:56 PM.
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

    Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    84

    Re: switch user no longer works

    Hi, and thanks again.

    Code:
    echo $XDG_SEAT_PATH
    /org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
    Code:
    lightdm --version
    lightdm 1.4.0
    Then :
    Code:
    /home/"$USER"/lightdm/lightdm-1.4.0/utils/gdmflexiserver
    doesn't invoke the greeter, instead it returns:
    Code:
    bash: /home/<myusername>/lightdm/lightdm-1.4.0/utils/gdmflexiserver: No such file or directory
    I should add though that this time when I restarted the computer the GUI "switch user" button in the panel was working. The above results are thus after it was working again.
    I don't know if this might be significant, but firefox crashed just before it stopped working (I was trying trickle [this time; don't know about last time] to see if that might allow me to cause websites that stream video to do so at lower quality because I'm obliged to use a USB dongle for web access and some websites just assume one has high bandwidth; that didn't work [I didn't really expect it would, but thought it was worth a try] and firefox crashed).
    Last edited by youWho; April 20th, 2013 at 11:41 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    9,374
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: switch user no longer works

    Hi

    bash: /home/<myusername>/lightdm/lightdm-1.4.0/utils/gdmflexiserver: No such file or directory
    Actually that makes sense. I downloaded the source for lightdm a while ago. Its in my home directory. I thought the directory was a hidden one.

    Does this file exist ?

    Code:
    /usr/lib/lightdm/lightdm/gdmflexiserver
    Can you run this command (copy and paste it)

    Code:
    dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=org.freedesktop.DisplayManager $XDG_SEAT_PATH org.freedesktop.DisplayManager.Seat.SwitchToGreeter
    Does that take you to the greater ?

    Kind regards
    Last edited by matt_symes; April 21st, 2013 at 12:17 AM. Reason: Just checked my home directory.
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

    Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    84

    Re: switch user no longer works

    Hi and thanks again.

    That file does exist:
    Code:
    /usr/lib/lightdm/lightdm/gdmflexiserver
    and running the command:
    Code:
    dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=org.freedesktop.DisplayManager $XDG_SEAT_PATH org.freedesktop.DisplayManager.Seat.SwitchToGreeter
    does indeed take me to the greeter (that is it takes me to the choice of users to log in as, which I assume is what you mean).
    But then I tried it the GUI way just after trying that and it too is at the moment working, which is I guess good---but it's hard to fix something that's only occasionally not working

    (Editiing this) I forgot to post the result that was printed in the terminal:
    Code:
     method return sender=:1.11 -> dest=:1.63 reply_serial=2
    Last edited by youWho; April 21st, 2013 at 01:00 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •